Patrons, Puddles & Pain

Definition of PATRON

1
a : a person chosen, named, or honored as a special guardian, protector, or supporterb : a wealthy or influential supporter of an artist or writerc : a social or financial sponsor of a social function (as a ball or concert)
2
: one that uses wealth or influence to help an individual, an institution, or a cause

 

Once upon a time, a couple centuries ago, artists had patrons.  Painters, writers – including Shakespeare – all had Patrons.  Some of The Bard’s patrons included Queen Elizabeth I and King James I and several other Lords & Ladies of wealth.  

It’s an idea I’ve been flirting with for several years – although I’d rather have an investor, someone who will make their money back, even if it’s slowly.  But I wasn’t ready before.  It took me some time to figure out why.  Now I know:  I wasn’t ready to accept the changes that  could come with success.  Even mild success would bring changes.  I also wasn’t ready to put myself out there in the public – like for book readings and such.  

Now I think I am.

So I am putting together some numbers and considering commencing the search.  Giveaways, promotions, media.  

My face will be out there.  There will be some who connect my author name with my legal name, those who connect the face to the name.

I am not afraid.

There will be blow back from my ex-in-laws.  They are Roman Catholics.  I am not – a source of strife even now. I write adult fiction.  I write explicit sex.  They pretend it doesn’t exist.  There will be strife.

I am not afraid.

So this is my task for the next couple days: compile the numbers. Decide on what I want to have to put out there for promotions and blog giveaways (and what the basis for said blog giveaways should be).  

There are puddles in the street today!  It’s cold and raining.  It was a pleasant walk with my daughter, despite that.  She likes to talk to me then.  I like to listen to her.  It’s a good bonding.

Pain levels are high, super high, today.  I am on the edge of tolerance. I have a movie on, a game open, a blog to read, one in progress (hi ya!) and my writing open.  

But instead of writing I’m going to do the above mentioned window shopping.  (There are lots of things to do from postcards to laptop skins.) It should be more distracting.  

I have a doctor’s appointment this afternoon and maybe it’ll bring some pain relief.  

Liam & Anna are frozen with his fingers curled against her G-spot.  I really should move that forward.

Question is…. Should I post it here when I’m done?

Have a bright, sunshiney day folks!

5 thoughts on “Patrons, Puddles & Pain

Leave a Reply

