Wind in the Water

I have the 1812 Overture playing on my speakers, I’m at the cottage, The Boyfriend is sleeping in our bed, had a great cup of tea and therefore I am a happy camper.  Being sick doesn’t mean I HAVE to be miserable.  

Today is Saturday and therefore it is my photo blog day!  Without further ado, we will get to it.

I am posting some pics I took on Wednesday when Peter took me to the beach.

The raspberry bushes at the cottage are beginning to bloom with potential for succulent fruit. Yum.

I love the sharp, crisp blue against the greens. And the juxtaposition between the brilliant blue of the bloom (I swear the alliteration was an accident!) and the purple of the bud is wonderful.

And finally, we got to the beach…

...where we were greeted by a veritable army of flying rats!

Although Fred here doesn't seem to pose much of a threat, standing all cute and one-legged like that. He's actually missing half his foot, from what I can see. He's a regular at the beach, I've had time to study him before. First time I've been able to digitize him though.

A big wind and rain storm wiped the beach clean. Our kites were the only spot of colour in the sand. It's nice they looked pretty there, since they didn't make it to the sky...

...except for one (very brief) moment of victory!

I wanted to capture the wind in the water and the path of the wave as it crashed into the shore.  So I sat on the beach.  It was …wet.  It didn’t *look* that wet.  Pretty sure it didn’t help my health any but I got some beautiful shots!  I have the choice here to put them in order of the shots taken or the process of the wave.  I think I’m going to go with the latter.  

Bach's Cello Suite No. 1 in G goes well with this series. Here we have the beginning, as the power of the wave starts to hit the shore.

The wave is just starting to curl. I love the white against the sand in the water

The curl makes its way along the wave. And the music changes to Handel's Water Music. 😀

And at last the curl is complete! It's ready to beat the shore and rattle the stones.

The water is rushing for the shore (to the tune of Handel's Hallelujah Chorus no less). All that cold, cold water heading straight for me!

The waves are awesome to behold, even the small ones like that. I wish I could've managed pictures of yesterday's crystal clear white caps but the wind was just too cold for me to be standing facing it.

And my favourite picture of the day: 

Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue is perfect for this photo. Looking up at the love of my life as he prowls for beach glass.

All photos were taking with my Olympus 4x Wide optical zoom, (4.8-19.2mm 1:2.9-6.5 <- someone explain that to me please), 12 megapixel camera.  The flowers were shot on Supermacro, the rest on Landscape.  The gulls were captured with 4x zoom and were the only photos altered – cropped to readjust the focus.  

I love my little camera.  I would LOVE a Nikon D3200 or Canon Rebel T21 but I can’t see either of them in my future any time soon.  I love the lenses and filters and am intensely curious about it all.  I was when I was a kid but never followed up with it, lost the passion and now I have it back.   A photography course and the equipment to back it up would be wonderful.

I think I need new landscapes though.  The next time we’re in any of the 3 cities around us that we tend to haunt, I think I’m going to make it a point to change my focus and film other things.  

Have a wonderful day folks!

8 thoughts on “Wind in the Water

  1. I think what you have captured with your camera is great and I do agree you are getting the most out of it but you need something better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

