Ghosts Afire

Today is the first official day of work on Highland Wolves Three!  And I am anxious, terrified, thrilled, terrified, intimidated and, oh yeah, terrified.

Starting a new book is a major venture.  And I don’t do outlines.  My characters tend to scoff at them, then chew them up and spit them out.  But I do like to get down the major plot points.  Things I’d  like to cover, things I’d like to see happen.  

I do need to find a way to enable Anna to look into the past without it being totally stupid.  Although… the ability to kind of do that was shown in HW1 when Anna communed with the Pack house just to see what was what.  

Perhaps going to Glencoe is one of the first things they should do.  

However, there’s also the coronation of Sarah – which is where the book starts.  And there are wedding plans to be made.  Plus Liam must officially introduce Anna  to the Therianthrope (Lycans of all kinds) community.  A wedding to be held.  Which means I get to write wedding vows.  Liam’s are partially written, thanks to Dostoevsky:

“Dostoevsky said, ‘So long as a man remains free he strives for nothing so incessantly and so painfully as to find someone to worship.’  In you I found my Goddess, I found a home for my heart and my soul.  I found a love that has no equal, no boundaries.  I give my life to you as I give my heart.”

Anna’s will also have “I give my life to you” in them but other than that… I’ll write them up later.  

There will be a new character.  A woman named Jane NoLastNameYet who will fight her way through the ranks.  She will be important.  

Elsie the ghost and her husband Al will be developed further.  

This book will be taking creative license with the past while including some truths.  Like the Campbells committing the unforgivable sin of dining with the MacDonalds before slaughtering “all under 70.”   The massacre was small, only 38, (hey, by Scottish history standards, that’s wee), but it is still talked about and still arouses the passions of those in Glencoe and Clachaig.  To this day, 300+ years later, there’s an inn in Clachaig that has a prominent sign saying “No Campbell’s.”  Children are raised knowing “never trust a Campbell.”

It’s risky taking on a project with so much hatred, anger and pain involved in the research.  Risky for me personally – emotionally and mentally.  I’m very empathic, I relate well to the emotions of others.  It’s also publicly kind of risky.  It’s been done a thousand times in a thousand ways, in big works and small , so we’ll see how it goes.

For now, I’m plotting the plot and making notes on things to research.  Anyone know where I can find a good family tree site?  Besides Ancestors.com.  I need one that has historical family trees laid out.  

*starts thinking about who she can rope in as a research assistant…*

Leave a Reply

