Beach Finds and Beachscapes

Greetings!

Yeah, it’s been another week without a blog. 😦   It’s been a week of recovery and housework and trying to get started again in the HW series.  It took me several hours to remember what Marcus was searching for.  I finally did and… oh but that’s another blog.  Last weekend I was restless and felt the need to go for a walk.  Where to go but the beach?  So down the stairs I went.  It was a mistake, physically, but I got some spectacular pictures.  I played with Photoshop on them all, some simple like just doing an auto-contrast/colour/level, some more detail.  

It was a misty, grey day, kind of like today but with less rain.   The landscape had been altered by the recent weather and I felt a need to capture it.  I also found some strange things on the beach…

I have no idea what this is the bones (or cartilage) of but... damn it's creepy.

I have no idea what this is the bones (or cartilage) of but… damn it’s creepy.

I merely did an auto-contrast here and cropped it to make the skeleton a greater focus.

He's awfully bleached out, I've never seen a pink toy soldier before.  He makes me think of that move Flags of our Fathers.

He’s awfully bleached out, I’ve never seen a pink toy soldier before. He makes me think of that move Flags of Our Fathers.

He got treated to an auto-level and a little bit of a dialing back on the brightness.

Cute little gaffer eh?  I don't know where he washed up from though I suspect it was the public beach.

Cute little gaffer eh? I don’t know where he washed up from though I suspect it was the public beach.

My funny, cute gator here was a simple auto-contrast and a touch of dimming down on the bright.

I found this can of what appears to be industrial strength cleaner rusting on the beach.  I did, of course, pick it up and bring it home for proper disposal.

I found this can of what appears to be industrial strength cleaner rusting on the beach. I did, of course, pick it up and bring it home for proper disposal.

Apparently it’s a septic cleaner/deodorizer for RV toilets.  What on earth was it doing on the beach?  The Photoshopping here was simply auto-colour.

I *think* this is the tail end of a box kite.  I love the colour.  That didn't stop me from messing with it...

I *think* this is the tail end of a box kite. I love the colour. That didn’t stop me from messing with it…

This one was difficult to get the colour right.  My camera tends to wash out the red a little.  When I take pictures of something that is a really deep purple, say, it comes out blue.  It’s annoying and hard to alter.  Orange is much easier to fix, for me at least.  I did an auto-contrast to see what would happen.  I liked it but not quite enough so I opened the Hue/saturation and put the saturation at +15 and the lightness to -6.  It came out beautifully.  And yet… I still messed with it.  

Bright isn't it?  Lost some detail when I played with the hue but I love what happened to it.

Bright isn’t it? Lost some detail when I played with the hue but I love what happened to it.

Since I had the hue open I just HAD to see what would happen.  This is the electric (blue) slide.  I love it.  

The shore line changed a lot and it gave me some fantastic opportunities for pictures.

I loved this when I saw it.  the depth.  The colours, the dreariness of it.  It reminds me of my memory - bits of flotsam and jetsam, lots of blank, empty space and a distinct fogginess.

I loved this when I saw it. the depth. The colours, the dreariness of it. It reminds me of my memory – bits of flotsam and jetsam, lots of blank, empty space and a distinct fogginess.

All I needed to do here was auto-contrast and it came out beautifully.

The gulls were very unhappy with me for intruding on their space on the sandbar.

The gulls were very unhappy with me for intruding on their space on the sandbar.

Peter saw this and said “The colour is messed up.”  I said, “that’s the point!”  I loved the lines and motion in this picture when I took it but when I tried to Photoshop it to where you could see what I saw nothing was coming out right.  So I played with the colour balance; a lot of magenta, a little red and blue in the midtones, some magenta and yellow in the highlights and blue in the shadows.  I like the way it turned out, even if it is a little avant-garde.  

This time I was looking at the black lines just below the water but, again, when I saw it on the computer my perspective on the capture changed.  I love the lines from the sand and the reflected trees alike.

This time I was looking at the black lines just below the water but, again, when I saw it on the computer my perspective on the capture changed. I love the lines from the sand and the reflected trees alike.

Here it was a simple auto-level and a touch of dimming down the brightness.

The original focus here was the steps of sand created by the waves and outlined by the debris (I need a new word) but when Peter saw the enlarged photo he was amazed at the reflection I captured.  A reflection I hadn't even noticed.  *laughs*

The original focus here was the steps of sand created by the waves and outlined by the debris (I need a new word) but when Peter saw the enlarged photo he was amazed at the reflection I captured. A reflection I hadn’t even noticed. *laughs*

Again, auto-contrast, less bright.  It didn’t take much here to show you what I saw.

As you may have guessed from the beach finds, there was a LOT of debris.  Most of it was organic though, like this line of bits and pieces of plants that got washed ashore in waves.

As you may have guessed from the beach finds, there was a LOT of debris. Most of it was organic though, like this line of bits and pieces of plants that got washed ashore in waves.

Simple auto-levels.  I love the way it turned out.  Look at all the detail and you can tell where the water levels rose and fell.

As I said, the shoreline shifted and offered me this wonderful opportunity to take this picture of the shore from within the lake.

As I said, the shoreline shifted and offered me this wonderful opportunity to take this picture of the shore from within the lake.

Again, this was simply an auto-levels touch.  It brought the colours and the light up nicely.

And that’s it for me folks.  I need to make some triple chocolate hazelnut cookies for a hostess gift and some brunch (not necessarily in that order) and see about getting some other work done.  

Have a wonderful weekend!

 

2 thoughts on “Beach Finds and Beachscapes

Leave a Reply

