Snow in Photoshop

Greetings!

Yep, my brain is lame today.  You’ll have to forgive the title.  Yesterday we went to the… *takes a deep breath*…  North American International Motorcycle Supershow.  

Phew.  What a title!  

It was AWESOME.  

It was also 425,000 square feet of bikes, helmets, leather and people.  Oooh the leather!  And the bikes were amazing.  The Century of Motorcycles exhibit was insane.  We had a great time.  Today I am beyond tired and in a lot of pain (thank you Tylenol, codeine and Advil for helping me cope!) so aside from my pictures there will be very little chit chat.  But there is this one thing… 

I have decided what the Thing in the “book and…” thing is!

It involves these!

It involves these!

One or two of them at least.  They’re pewter and the pentagrams are about the size of a nickel.  Perfect.  I found them at the bike show yesterday.  Serendipity.

On to the pictures!  They are the last ones of 2012 and I think they’re beautiful.

Val, the one who talks to me daily about the writing and everything, flew out from B.C to visit her family.  We drove close to 5 hours to go and visit her.  It was a lot of fun!

Val, the one who talks to me daily about the writing and everything, flew out from B.C to visit her family. We drove close to 10 total hours to go and visit her. It was a lot of fun!

My daughter's 13th birthday was this past week too.  Thirteen!  She wanted a cookie monster cake.  I poured the blue dye into the milk and had to photograph the result.  Even the reflection if my camera and fingers makes it that much cooler.

My daughter’s 13th birthday was this past week too. Thirteen! She wanted a cookie monster cake. I poured the blue dye into the milk and had to photograph the result. Even the reflection if my camera and fingers makes it that much cooler.

Look at the richness of this blue!  It's fantastic and looks like a marble.

Look at the richness of this blue! It’s fantastic and looks like a marble.

On New Year's Day Peter and I went for a walk in the snow.  Of course we brought our cameras...

On New Year’s Day Peter and I went for a walk in the snow. Of course we brought our cameras…

First we stopped at the top of the stairs to the beach and I just had to try and capture the violence of the lake, the brilliance of the snow and the starkness of the trees.  Then I put it all in grayscale because, really, it looks awesome.

First we stopped at the top of the stairs to the beach and I just had to try and capture the violence of the lake, the brilliance of the snow and the starkness of the trees. Then I put it all in grayscale because, really, it looks awesome.

So then we went to the main beach (so I wouldn't have to climb the stairs back up from the private) and this is what we saw.  Boulders of ice being tossed around by waves.  They were probably close to 2 feet across!

So then we went to the main beach (so I wouldn’t have to climb the stairs back up from the private) and this is what we saw. Boulders of ice being tossed around by waves. They were probably close to 2 feet across!

The next two photos are my absolute favourites.  I cropped them both to showcase the focus better and applied the auto-contrast plus grayscale.  They are beautiful photos, if my opinion means anything.  😉

We met this pair in the parking lot and they walked out to the pier to stand together and watch the waves and snow.  It was a lovely moment and I couldn't help but capture it.

We met this pair in the parking lot and they walked out to the pier to stand together and watch the waves and snow. It was a lovely moment and I couldn’t help but capture it.

The pier and the lighthouse.  My goal was to capture the snow.  It was appearing out of the sky only a few feet above our heads as big fat flakes. It was like magic, such purity from a heavy, iron grey sky.

The pier and the lighthouse. My goal was to capture the snow. It was appearing out of the sky only a few feet above our heads as big fat flakes. It was like magic, such purity from a heavy, iron grey sky.

That’s it for me today folks!  Enjoy the rest of your weekend.  

Muah.

4 thoughts on “Snow in Photoshop

Leave a Reply

