Snow Day

((As always, to see any picture in greater detail, right click the image and open in new tab))

Hi there!

Yesterday was a day of a huge snow storm that hit Southwestern Ontario, a good bit of Detroit, New England and some of the eastern seaboard. It dumped a ton of snow on us all.  So this morning when I was filling the kettle for my tea and I glanced out the window I saw a beautiful scene, a picture just waiting to happen.  I have a big problem taking photos from the kitchen window – it’s dirty.  *laughs*

So I put on Peter’s snowmobile boots…

Size 12 men's boots.  Size 9.5 women's feet.  Translates to about a size 8 men's.  BIG boots.

Size 12 men’s boots. Size 9.5 women’s feet. Translates to about a size 8 men’s. BIG boots.

And I went tromping outside.  Going out to the backyard to take the pic changed the perspective quite a bit.  The kitchen window is about nine feet off the ground.  That means, obviously, that when I went outside I was looking at the world differently.  I still liked what I saw though.  I took this picture with the camera on the Beach & Snow setting.   Once in Photoshop I  hit it with auto levels and toyed with the Curves in the RGB settings.  

Pretty, no?

Pretty, no?

I did decide that the backyard wasn’t enough so I went around the house to see what I could see of the beach.  I think the camera was on Landscape for this one and I ran it through the auto-level and curves, both with the RGB and blue tones.  Had to reduce the blue somewhat but I really like the result.

It's lovely but I wasn't going to trespass to get the shot of the lake I wanted.

It’s lovely but I wasn’t going to trespass to get the shot of the lake I wanted.

So I decided to go to the lake.  What better place to take a picture of the lake then AT the lake eh?  I stopped at the top of the stairs to see what I could see.  And I saw ice and snow as far as the eye can see.  The camera was on Landscape; I think it’s safe to say all the next few pictures are except the macros.  All I had to do to it was a swipe of the auto-level and it was perfect.

I love the colours, I love the shadows and light.

I love the colours, I love the shadows and light.

I went halfway down the stairs and stopped to admire the scenery but the best was when I got to the bottom.  Even in those big ass snow stompin’ boots I had a struggle walking around the beach but I did manage to take pictures of it to share with you all.  Down along the edge of the walkway to the right there is a bunch of lovely bushes in the summer time.  Right now they look like this:

Wonderful sculpture, isn't it?

Wonderful sculpture, isn’t it?

And this:

Heavy with snow

Heavy with snow

Except that the snow looks like of like foam, as I discovered when I took a macro shot of it.

Don't you think it looks like foam on the branches?

Don’t you think it looks like foam on the branches?

That was a macro shot (obviously *laughs*) and I slapped the auto-levels on it and then set about playing with the curves, both the RGB and the blue levels.  Believe it or not, this is less blue than it was!   But I wasn’t totally satisfied, you all know me, have Photoshop, will play.  😀  In this case, playing with the hue/saturation tool.  

It's not for everyone, I know, but I love the colour of the sky and the tiny hint of blue

It’s not for everyone, I know, but I love the colour of the sky and the tiny hint of blue

I moved on, trudging through the snow and poking carefully with my cane to make sure I wasn’t going to do anything to make myself fall again.  I stopped at the benches and surveyed the lay of the land.  It was astounding.  I lost the lake in the height of the small mountains just beyond the beach’s edge.

This is the north view.  Look how far the beach is extended by the snow/sand/ice mix?

This is the north view. Look how far the beach is extended by the snow/sand/ice mix?

Just below the line of clouds you can see an itty bitty bit of the lake.  

The snow was just so pretty I had to photograph it up close.  I took the same shot twice, once with a macro and once with the landscape.  I couldn’t get down on the snow (I was wearing jeans, not snow pants) so I crouched and brought the camera down to snow level to capture the two that are, really, my favourite shots of the day.  This is the macro shot first.  I used auto-level then toyed a little bit with the colour balance and the brightness/contrast to get it looking the way I saw it.

Isn't it marvelous?  Sparkly and the texture is just awesome.

Isn’t it marvelous? Sparkly and the texture and depth are just awesome.

And this is the same angle but in landscape, a long shot, if you will.  I used auto-contrast but wasn’t happy with that so I hit it with auto-levels too and used the sharpen filter to bring out the beauty in its best light.

I love the combination light, the sparkles and the shadow.  Funny thing is, I couldn't see the viewfinder.

I love the combination light, the sparkles and the shadow. Funny thing is, I couldn’t see the viewfinder.

😀  I just noticed that you can see my footprints on the stairs!

I was very excited to be outside today.  I probably shouldn’t have gone down the stairs with my hip still healing but it was totally worth it for the shots I got.   The snow will start to melt again tomorrow as rain moves in so I am delighted to be able to share these images of a beautiful storm aftermath.  

We are off to the main beach, where I will get pictures of the lake, rather than the beach and mini-mountains, and then to a motorcycle show in London.  

Have a wonderful rest of the day my lovelies!

Muah.

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Snow Day

Leave a Reply

