Giants, Ice and Snow, Oh My!

First of all, I have to show you this:

I can finally wear it!

I can finally wear it!

Awesome eh?

And now…

Hello you lovely people!  How’s your weekend going?

I went out with GirlKid yesterday.  We spent the day in the city, saw a movie, went to a bookstore and wandered around a mall before having dinner.  A lot of talking and laughs.  We saw Beautiful Creatures.   It was good but the only thing I will tell you about it is that it is NOT the book.  Don’t go with the expectation that everything will be the same.

We were wandering around the movie theatre and came across a massive display for Jack the Giant Slayer.  GirlKid was horsing around and since I had my camera in my pocket I decided to take her picture.

Oh no!  She's going to be grabbed!

Oh no! She’s going to be grabbed!

Yep, that’s my daughter in the giant’s hand.  Awesome, no?

Last weekend we went to the main beach to take a look at the lake from the pier.  As you may remember, I went down to the private beach but lost sight of the lake when I hit the bottom of the stairs.  I did get some lovely photographs just none of the lake.  The trip to the main beach was great for offering some amazing views.

I started out by admiring the icicles around the house. I'm jazzed I caught the drips.

I started out by admiring the icicles around the house. I’m jazzed I caught the drips.

 

The view from the south-west side of the pier.  Ice and snow as far as you can see.

The view from the south-west side of the pier. Ice and snow as far as you can see.

 

I wanted to capture how far out from the beach the ice was built up AND show you how lake and marina entrance came together.

I wanted to capture how far out from the beach the ice was built up AND show you how lake and marina entrance came together.

I never really thought about the difference in water flow until last week.  I know that after a particularly violent snow storm and melt several weeks ago the water on the south beach side was murky and brown where it clashed with the north side’s clear, green water.  The build up and curve of the ice… flat?… is amazing.  And you see those people there?  They’re in the water.  😉

The Marina, as seen from the pier.  When I saw this pic on the computer I had a hard time with the perspective, until I remembered that the wood on the left side are posts standing against the pier!

The Marina, as seen from the pier. When I saw this pic on the computer I had a hard time with the perspective, until I remembered that the wood on the left side are posts standing against the pier!

 

And now for my favourite picture of the day (and the last).  It is on the north side of the pier and I really wish I had had something to offer some perspective on the size because it looks tiny but the jagged, sharp, intimidating pieces of ice are two to three feet tall.  They were too far off the pier to attempt walking out to them to get that perspective.  I did not fancy a dip in the cold, cold waters.  I removed the colour and made the photo greyscale because I preferred the black and white look to the colour.

Lovely, isn't it?

Lovely, isn’t it?

Stark and threatening, surreal and evocative of danger it is my favourite picture of the month.  Not counting the one of GirlKid.  Which is the best of all time.  

I’m off, enjoy what little is left of your weekend!

Muah!

 

8 thoughts on “Giants, Ice and Snow, Oh My!

  1. NANO shirt is awesome, beautiful lady wearing it, even more awesome, love the pictures, my fave is of the ice and snow (2nd one) it looks so desolate and unending. Stunning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

