Trolls, Caves and Glass

Woot!!

Woot!!

Lookie lookie!

It’s been a year since I started entertaining you fine people with my writing and my photos!  Congratulations everyone!

Also this week, I have been on my feet and working at stuff. Healthy progress!!  Friday night we went out for dinner.  Oh the chef was wonderful!  The staff worked hard to make sure there was safe food for me to eat and it was good food. I especially enjoyed dipping my grilled shrimp into their homemade, super secret recipe Honey Dill Dressing. That stuff is more addictive than crack! (not that I’ve tried crack lol) And I was thrilled to find a salad dressing somewhere that is safe for me; an incredibly difficult feat considering most of the time it’s made with soybean oil.  The server even gave me some to bring home.

Yesterday we went shopping. (Can you say “you overdid it”?)  It was a long and exhausting day for someone who has been basically sedentary for a month.  “Sedimentary,” The Boyfriend said.  

“Slow moving shale,” I quipped.  “That makes today a rock slide.”

Made him laugh and you groan. 😀

I do have some photos to share with you.  

This week was spring break for my kids and my daughter hung out with me for a couple of days.  One of those days was Girlkid-is-weird Day.   She built a fort with my love seat.

Camera shy couch troll!

Camera shy couch troll!

The cat thought this was a GREAT game.

Alas, no matter how he hunted and tried, she wouldn't let him in.

Alas, no matter how he hunted and tried, she wouldn’t let him in.

So he found his own cave under a piece of mylar sheet.

He's not a fan of photography but he let GK take a few like this.

He’s not a fan of photography but he let GK take a few like this.

They’re both strange creatures but I truly do think it’s as much nurture and environment. 😉

I did a bit of heavy energy work today so Peter took me to the beach to recharge.  Unfortunately, my SD card wasn’t in my camera so I only managed about four pictures.   You know me though, have Photoshop, will play.  😀

Shockingly, I found this huge piece of beach glass.  It looked relatively new.  Not someone-just-broke-a-bottle new, but like it’d only been in the water a couple of months.  Some of the edges were still sharp.  I took a couple photos and threw it back in the water to get beat up more.  

I used macro and I don’t know what it was about the light but I really didn’t like the way it came out.  And nothing I did, contrast, hue etc, made a difference.  So I did a colour splash with it.  First, the one that I couldn’t get right.  This is the original photo, auto levels, a shift in contrast and a little addition of extra green.  I still didn’t like it very much.

The green is dull and dark and not at all how it looked on the beach.

The green is dull and dark and not at all how it looked on the beach.

So I decided to see if I could get the green to really pop.  And how better to do that than the colour splash!  Right?  

See?  It's much better.  I did the colour splash technique and upped the green.

See? It’s much better. I did the colour splash technique and upped the green.

I did take a different perspective of the piece and it came out MUCH better.  The glass shone and almost sparkled. I did an auto levels and a slight contrast shift to enhance it.  

Gorgeous isn't it?  And okay, a lot of contrast shift.  I like the high contrast

Gorgeous isn’t it? And okay, a lot of contrast shift. I like the high contrast

Lastly, I found this rock I really liked.  I left it there, because I think it needs to be in the wild (can you tell I’m tired?) but I had to take a macro shot of it.   Auto levels, sharpen and a slight (really this time) adjustment in the contrast.  

Neat, eh?

Neat, eh?  I also like the sand grains there.  So pretty.

I was screwing around with the filters and accidentally clicked on “Find Edges.”   I got this:

Trippy, right?  :D

Trippy, right? 😀

And that’s it for me folks!

A year of entertaining, 99 followers, lots of fun sharing.  Ninety-nine people!  One more is all we need!  

That and STILL 40 followers on Facebook.  Come on people!  Spread the word, share the links, click LIKE on my Facebook page yourself and we will have a giveaway!

The prizes!!

The prizes!!  So pretty!

Have a great week folks!  Going to get that battle written and share it with you.  Let’s get this giveaway going in the meantime!

Muah!

 

Oh!  I totally forgot!  

Peter went for a walk down on the beach and took a bunch of pictures.  I wanted to share my favourite one with you.  I shifted the brightness/contrast  to highlight the ice, other than that I left it alone.  

Awesome isn't it!?

Awesome isn’t it!?

Bye!

4 thoughts on “Trolls, Caves and Glass

Leave a Reply

