Signs of Spring

Good Monday morning ladies and gents!  

How’s it going?   I have a sick kid at home today so it might not be as productive as I’d like to be but we’ll see how it goes.  

Meanwhile, I have a few photos to share with you from this weekend.  I have new boots 

Simple, industrial-ish, rubber boots.  Made for mucking about.
Simple, industrial-ish, rubber boots. Made for mucking about.

so we went to the beach to see how the higher temperatures were treating the kilometer or so of snow and ice that extended out from the beach towards the horizon.  “Clumpy” is a good word for it. *laughs*  

 

 

 

When we got there most of the ice and snow had broken up or melted. It let me do a great deal of tromping through shallow waters – COLD shallow waters I might add – and I had a  lot of fun.  

Let’s start with Saturday morning though.  I was up at the semi-crack of dawn and it was already 12°C and so I wandered outside in my PJs and sneakers with camera in hand (of course).  I couldn’t get a picture of the tiny chickadees, though I was delighted to see them.  The tree in the front yard did offer an excellent photo opportunity.  It was dripping sap from a couple of places, very slow long drips, and I took this shot of one hanging drip.  I put the camera on super macro to do so and then in photoshop I cropped it some to make the droplet the focus.  I used auto levels, didn’t like the colours at all and felt it would look better in greyscale.  

I almost expect the drop to fall.  lol

I almost expect the drop to fall. lol

On to the beach on Sunday.  

As I said, there was a lot of broken up ice.  Bits and pieces everywhere.  This next photo is a good example of that.  I crouched down to take this shot, with the camera on landscape.  In editing I merely used the auto levels on it.   The blue of the sky against the dirty white of the huge hills of ice and sand and snow almost looks like I pasted the foreground against someone else’s sky but I promise you I did not.  

I love all the colours and all the shades of grey and white against the dark wet sand.

I love all the colours and all the shades of grey and white against the dark wet sand.

There were smaller graveyards of the poor icebergs too.  Beached ice against the wet sand covered with pebbles and enough driftwood to make a small pirate ship.  Again, the editing was simple – auto levels.  Everything came out so well in yesterday’s light.

Beached ice... is so sad when it melts.  Not.

Beached ice… is so sad when it melts. Not.

There were three spectacular bits of ice formations that just took our breath away.  Here are a few of the images.  All of them have had the auto levels done on it and this first one has been cropped to put the most important part at front and centre.  And the last one, my optical illusion, has as well.  I think it’s my favourite.  

Pretty isn't it?  We found it like that as part of a larger chunk.

Pretty isn’t it? We found it like that as part of a larger chunk.

I found this pretty chunk of ice a little further away, just melting slowly on the sand.  See the bits of water trapped inside?

I found this pretty chunk of ice a little further away, just melting slowly on the sand. See the bits of water trapped inside?

Kind of hard to look at, isn't it?  This is my optical illusion - a perfectly clear piece of glass just resting in the sand.  It looks like a water bubble about to burst. Or an alien blob waiting to attack.

Kind of hard to look at, isn’t it? This is my optical illusion – a perfectly clear piece of ice just resting in the sand. It looks like a water bubble about to burst. Or an alien blob waiting to attack.

I wasn’t going to post this next picture.  I figured you all have had enough.  But… my daughter looked at it (she’s home sick today) and decided it looks like a frozen used tissue.  So I want to know what you think.  Peter says it’s a strange fish.   Captured with zoom, auto levels, slight adjustment in brightness/contrast and then set into greyscale.

Personally, I think it looks like a baby pterodactyl.

Personally, I think it looks like a baby pterodactyl.

And I am off to try and get some nano writing done.  It’s day 8 and I am at 13,535.  I am loving this story but I’m struggling with my ability to focus – as in, I have no ability to focus.  I am flogging someone today (for fun) so we’ll see how it goes.

Have a great day!  

Muah

 

2 thoughts on “Signs of Spring

Leave a Reply

