Suddenly Spring!

Good Sunday to you!

I believe that here, on Ontario’s west coast, we have suddenly leapt from winter into summer.  We’ve hit temperatures of 22°C (that’s 72°F to those of you not hip to the metric system 😉 ) this past week.  Perfect weather if you ask me.  Last weekend it was snowing!  Life is suddenly in full bloom and colours are everywhere! 

I have spent the last couple of days largely outside, (which has, apparently, managed to cover my keyboard in pollen.  Ew.), with my camera in hand a great deal of that time.  I have taken pictures of people at the beach, including this beautiful shot of the motorcycles on the pier:

It's slightly off kilter, I know.

It’s slightly off kilter, I know.  I was playing with the rotate options and this is a 5 degree tilt.  Makes it kind of surreal, eh?

Most of my pictures have been macros of the life that is growing.  I have a rather long list of pictures to show you – a dozen or so and it’s pared down! – so I’m just going to get right to it.  With the exception of the next two shots, which were done with the Pop Art setting on my camera, all these pictures are done in the Super Macro setting.  All but two photos – Peony in Grey and Colour of Rot 2: poster edges – have had only a little tweaking and that was to simply press ctrl+shift+L to get the levels auto adjusted.  Most of the time that works out well to give me the lighting I see through the viewfinder.  

On to the photos!

Aside from auto-levels, this is exactly the way this pic came out.  Fantastic isn't it?

Aside from auto-levels, this is exactly the way this pic came out. Fantastic isn’t it?

I love the way the white of the petals glows in the heart of shimmering green grass.

I love the way the white of the petals glows in the heart of shimmering green grass.

For my first macro, I have a favour.  If you know what kind of tree this is PLEASE tell me!  I can’t find it anywhere and it’s driving me crazy.  I prefer to identify and label my pictures with some degree of accuracy, especially when it comes to the plants.  

A friend called it "Frustration Tree" and for now that works.  *laughs*  Beautiful isn't it?  I think the stripes in the purple petals are awesome.

A friend called it “Frustration Tree” and for now that works. *laughs* Beautiful isn’t it? I think the stripes in the purple petals are awesome.

 

The first in my tree stump mini-series.  This is a broken old stump in the front yard. It looks like cooling lava.

The first in my tree stump mini-series. This is a broken old stump in the front yard. It looks like cooling lava.

So does this one, more so than the last.  The colours are astounding.  And it led me to do this...

So does this one, more so than the last. The colours are astounding. And it led me to do this…

...poster edges.  I wanted play with the filters to see what I could do.  I wanted to see if I could make this even cooler.  And I did!

…poster edges. I wanted play with the filters to see what I could do. I wanted to see if I could make this even cooler. And I did!

This is an ancient dried out heap of a tree stump in the back yard.  Lichen grows quite handily here.

This is an ancient dried out heap of a tree stump in the back yard. Lichen grows quite handily here.

I took this photo with the macro setting and applied the auto-levels.  I'm not sure why it turned out like this but I think it's phenomenal. I think the way the yellow stands out against the bizarrely purple background is striking and fun.

I took this photo with the macro setting and applied the auto-levels. I’m not sure why it turned out like this but I think it’s phenomenal. I think the way the yellow stands out against the bizarrely purple background is striking and fun.

The strawberries again.  They're so pretty and so very tiny.  The blooms are about the size of my middle fingernail.  They didn't want to be in sharp focus - I tried half a dozen times - so they glow gently in soft focus.  Very pretty.

The strawberries again. They’re so pretty and so very tiny. The blooms are about the size of my middle fingernail. They didn’t want to be in sharp focus – I tried half a dozen times – so they glow gently in soft focus. Very pretty.

Tiny leaves at the very tip of a raspberry cane.  Both leaves together would have fit inside a quarter.

Tiny leaves at the very tip of a raspberry cane. Both leaf groups together would have fit inside a quarter.

This teeny bloom looks like an iris to me.  It's growing in the grass and is smaller than a Canadian nickel. The detail on such a small thing is amazing.

This teeny bloom looks like an iris to me. It’s growing in the grass and is smaller than a Canadian nickel. The detail on such a small thing is amazing.

I stood over a small group of peonies growing in the garden and took this photo on super macro.  I decided to see what it would look like in greyscale and loved it.    There is very little missing detail and the dark plant is striking against the white quartz mulch.  Never put in rock as a garden accent/mulch. It's awful.  Pretty for a while, but awful.

I stood over a small group of peonies growing in the garden and took this photo on super macro. I decided to see what it would look like in greyscale and loved it. There is very little missing detail and the dark plant is striking against the white quartz mulch. Never put in rock as a garden accent/mulch. It’s awful. Pretty for a while, but awful.

Lastly, my favourite.  There is a large Snowball Bush beginning to leaf in the backyard.  Soon it will bloom into thousands of tiny pink & white flowers but for now it's the leaves.  I was trying to capture this unfurling but I had to look up because the bush is tall.  So I changed my mind about the composition as soon as I saw what was coming through the viewfinder.  The silhouette is much better than what I was going for and this is my favourite picture for this week.

Lastly, my favourite. There is a large Snowball Bush beginning to leaf in the backyard. Soon it will bloom into thousands of tiny pink & white flowers but for now it’s the leaves. I was trying to capture this unfurling but I had to look up because the bush is tall. I changed my mind about the composition as soon as I saw what was coming through the viewfinder. The silhouette is much better than what I was going for and makes this  my favourite picture for this week.  Have a wonderful rest of the day.  Muah!

 

4 thoughts on “Suddenly Spring!

    1. The silhouette of the bikes is one of my favourites too. The last picture tops the group at number one. There were so many other pictures I could have put in that it was difficult to narrow them down.

      Like

Leave a Reply

