Rust, Iron and Colour

Good Sunday morning, boys and girls!

How are you?

Yesterday was my daughter’s end-of-year dance recital and I finally got to see her entire jazz routine with costume and her group!   She looked great.  She did really well, particularly in her solo.  Congrats on a great year, GK!

See?   Pretty girl.  And she did so, so well.

See? Pretty girl. And she did so, so well.

I’m definitely having issues today but I am cheerful anyway and I have been really looking forward to showing you these pictures.

There’s this little shop in Lucan, Ontario that we drive by called Lucan Architectural.  Their yard is full of colour and awesome shapes and textures and every time we drove by I’d say, “Pictures!  Must take pictures!”  Finally, we did.  We were on our way to the city when Peter pulled into the shop instead.  I was like a kid in a candy store.  I did remember to ask the owner if she minded.  😉  She didn’t so I took pictures of textures and bits and pieces of works I liked.

With so many things to photograph and so many pictures in the end it was hard to choose just a few.  As it is, I still have ten pictures to show you.  I couldn’t decide where to start so I think we’ll just go in alphabetical order.  *laughs*

All the pictures have been ‘shopped to show them to their best and bring out what I liked best about them.  I’ll detail the changes …as much as I can remember, really should start making notes.  😉

Yeah.  I’m in a mood.

Pictures!

Oh yes, before I do that, I do have a piece of business.

I started the giveaway a few days ago.  I was hoping a FEW people would enter but I’m not seeing it.  There are only three entrants (sorry dollface, but you’ve got a book AND I have something else in mind for you).  Enter!  Spread it around!  It’s a small contest but I think it’s worth the few minutes it’ll take to get into the contest.  Only the first one is mandatory and I’ll give you the answer right here:  She’s a Vampire-Werewolf hybrid.  (Spread that around too 😉 )   You have the option to get seven tickets in the raffle.  ENTER!  😀

Okay, photos.  I was a little shaky in the hands on Sunday so there may, sadly, be a few blurry bits and pieces.

I love this first one.  I did the auto levels, toyed with the contrast and brightness and adjusted the RGB levels to enhance the red.  Basically, I played with the buttons until I liked the picture.  *chuckles*

Weird combination of Big Bird and Kermit the Frog, isn't he?  Cute though, in a weird kind of way.

Weird combination of Big Bird and Kermit the Frog, isn’t he? Cute though, in a weird kind of way.

This next is the center of a deep purple butterfly.  I liked the contrast between the pretty paint and the rust and welding remains.  I did adjust the RGB to make the purple deeper, like it is in real life, since the camera didn’t quite pick it up.

((Okay, for those of you reading this as soon as it’s published, I accidentally clicked Publish, it’s not done yet, come back in an hour))

Pretty, no?  Lots of contrasts here.

Pretty, no? Lots of contrasts here.

This is a macro shot of a small butterfly that was part of a perpetual motion garden decoration.  I love the colours in the rust, the light and dark reds and oranges mixing with the brown.  I like the hammered dents and I particularly like the way this shot came out with the depth of field.  I did much the same to this that I did with Birdie up there.  

It's adorable!

It’s adorable!

This next one can only be called creepy.  He’s a clown-esque snowman with the way the weld marks are on his face.  There wasn’t much to be done with this photo; a touch of adjustment to the light and contrast.  I cropped it to make the face the focus and just left it to stare out at you.

Relentlessly staring.

Creepy.

Creepy.

 

I’m including this one not because it was particularly good or even one of my favourites, though I do like the wings.  No, I’m including it because of the stone.  When I took the shot, I wanted to capture the juxtaposition of the stone and the iron work.  The stone is a soft, polished piece of white with green striations.  When I took the picture, the stone… Well, you’ll see.  I did nothing to this picture but the auto-levels; it needed to speak for itself.  

It looks like I photoshopped the stone in eh?  No such thing.  It's glowy-er in black and white.

It looks like I photoshopped the stone in eh? No such thing. It’s glowy-er in black and white.

 

This next little guy is my favourite picture of the month.  He was also my favourite critter on display.  I want him.  He’d be so worth the $110 and yet, I can’t bring myself to spend that much money on something like this, no matter how adorable he is.  I removed the colour by pulling the Saturation all the way over to -100.  Then I upped the contrast just a bit to highlight some of the shadows.  

His name is Leroy.  It just seemed to fit.

His name is Leroy. It just seemed to fit.

This next little guy is tiny, especially in comparison to our friend Leroy there.  He’s a hanger for a dinner bell but he’s only about six inches long from the tip of his nose to the wall.  I cropped the picture to focus in on the best part – his face.  Hit the auto-levels then undid that and toyed with Curves.  I sharpened it once and then called it good.

We're just missing Rocky here.  Peter thinks he looks like a reindeer but, really, he's a moose.

We’re just missing Rocky here. Peter thinks he looks like a reindeer but, really, he’s a moose.

Two more pictures left, because I removed one.

I took this shot originally because I liked the bright colours conflicting with the welding scars  (I like the word ‘scars’ versus using ‘dirt’ or something) but as I played with the adjustments it turns out that’s not why I took the picture at all.  I took it because of the textures.  The smooth and the rough, the sharp and the soft.  I moved the saturation down to -80 and liked the subdued colouring so much I left it that way.

The change in colour highlights the textures.

The change in colour highlights the textures.

Last photo!  And this is the second best (after Leroy).  These cute little birds were part of another perpetual motion thing.  I liked them because they’re so fat and round and adorable.  I also liked the rust pattern.  And it’s that pattern I chose to highlight as I played with Photoshop.  I hit the auto-level, liked that.  Then I upped the contrast a bit and played with the colour balance to get the reds more front and center.  I love the results.  

Such adorable little things.    Could have put on in my hand.

Such adorable little things. Could have put on in my hand.

And that’s it for me folks!  My brain is staging a strike so I’m going to stop forcing it to do things that require coherent thoughts.  For a little while at least.  I need to do some work, since I lost a whole day yesterday.   And yes, this means the blog is really done this time.  *laughs*

Muah!

And don’t forget to ENTER!!

 

2 thoughts on “Rust, Iron and Colour

Leave a Reply

