Beaches, Sunsets, Catching Up Again

Good morning!

I have been lax, I’m afraid.  It’s been stupid busy around here and when it’s not busy I’m in stupid brain-numbing pain.  It makes it difficult to write.  

So here I am with the photoblog I wanted to post a week ago this past Sunday.  Tomorrow we will be checking out the start of my Pink! story.  Maybe you all can help me find a title, eh?  I’m kind of lost there.  

Remember the snowball tree?   We were playing with it, making it snow.  I was taking pictures while Peter made it snow.  These ended up being my two favourites, although Peter took the second.  I took it with the sports setting on my camera and it caught the fall of petals perfectly.

Snowing petals.  Unfortunately, they turn an icky, sticky brown after a while.

Snowing petals. Unfortunately, they turn an icky, sticky brown after a while.

The second one is something that delighted Peter to see.  I was sitting under the tree as he shook it and we were having fun.  I was happy.  In a good place.  He took it with the same setting.  I put it in grayscale and cropped it to the place I liked (I wasn’t wearing a bra and I was in comfy clothes! lol) .  

See?  A good place.   And a good look on me.  I actually like this picture.

See? A good place. And a good look on me. I actually like this picture.

We went to the beach at sunset and I took pictures.  Of course.  😉  I have two.  One pretty one and one I screwed with. *laughs*   I don’t remember doing much to the first one beyond auto-contrast.  I’d been playing with the ISO and white balance settings and liking the way things were coming out.

It's a pretty sunset purples and oranges.  I like the contrasts of light and shadows.

It’s a pretty sunset purples and oranges. I like the contrasts of light and shadows.

Then, of course, I had to play with another one of the sunset pictures.  I did this and undid it then I did that and undid it and finally, I did this.  I played with the hue and saturation.  East and west along the scale and settled on this:

Kind of grey and pink.

Kind of grey and pink.

I do have one other sunset picture but I’m saving it for the end.

I went out early Saturday morning and snapped a few pics of the tightly furled future beauty.  I like the pictures.  I think that they are almost as beautiful as the blooms themselves.  I changed the contrast a little in the rosebud.  The peony was almost perfect the way it is.  And, of course, I have to play with photoshop so I did.  I turned the splatter filter on the rosebud.  😀

They should start opening this week.  I'm surprised they haven't yet.

They should start opening this week. I’m surprised they haven’t yet.

They will open to be a deep, rich pink, I think. I'll show you when they do.

They will open to be a deep, rich pink, I think. I’ll show you when they do.

 

They will open to be a deep, rich pink, I think.  I'll show you when they do.

Splatterific!

And finally, my favourite picture of the week.  

It’s a sunset but not like the other two.  Same night.  Different perspective.  I saw the shot in my head and took it with a little prayer that it would come out the way I wanted it to.  And when I opened it into Photoshop to see what needed to be done it was absolutely perfect.  

Enjoy!  I’m out.  Muah

Gorgeousness.

Gorgeousness.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Beaches, Sunsets, Catching Up Again

  1. The pictures are amazing baby girl especially the one of you! been a while since I’ve seen you like this and I’m glad to see it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

