50 Shades of Green

Good Sunday morning!  

It is the last weekend of July and I am sitting here chilled!  The temps have dropped from somewhere around 100*F to the 60s.    That wouldn’t be bad, perfect temps really, I like it around 70, but there is a fierce southwest wind blowing up a storm in this low pressure system.   The wind feels like it’s blowing from the Arctic rather than the south.  It’s lovely to look at but I did not come prepared to sit outside here.

Today I have a photoblog for you.  Yes, it has been a long time.  I haven’t been taking very many pictures, I simply have been too busy.  Summer school is done and I gave myself a break and decided that CampNaNo is done too.  I am working on the Birdie/Rolf story I started in NaNo 2011.  I hit the 50k with it but never finished the story.  So I am going to do that and I think it will be the second NaNo book to be published under my name. I will tell you all about it in the coming week.  The first NaNo book to be published is coming soon!

I do have a collection of pictures to share though; the small collection I had and yesterday I took my camera out for a little walk around our friend’s house.  I took a bunch of nature shots and some mechanical ones.  Most of them came out so well that all I’ve had to do is a little auto-levels or contrast.  There has been some cropping here and there to cut out the superfluous imagery and point you at what I really wanted you to see.  Overall though, I’m really pleased with the way they came out.  

There were so many that I had to decide what to share and what not to share rather harshly.  I think I still have too many.  *laughs*  Shall we begin?

First, the picture that inspired the title.  It is a closed bud of a mini black eyed susan.  It’s been cropped and auto-contrasted but otherwise is untouched.  After that I am simply going to post the pictures and talk about them beneath the photo.  Enjoy! 

I love the greens and the pattern in the middle of the bud

I love the greens and the pattern in the middle of the bud

Black and yellow on bright luscious yellow.  Look at the delicate pattern on the wings.  I had no idea.

Black and yellow on bright luscious yellow. Look at the delicate pattern on the wings. I had no idea.

 

The contrast on this one is exactly the way the photo came out, I made no adjustments.  It's perfect.

The contrast on this one is exactly the way the photo came out, I made no adjustments. It’s perfect.

This pink daisy is beautiful for the contrasts.  The spiky center and the soft flowing petals.  The petals themselves are full of textures.  It's wonderful.

This pink daisy is beautiful for the contrasts. The spiky center and the soft flowing petals. The petals themselves are full of textures. It’s wonderful.

I'm sure there's a dramatic name for this lily, I'd be disappointed if there's not!  I love the depth of field here, the way the colours draw you in to the stamen.  A gorgeous runway for bees.

I’m sure there’s a dramatic name for this lily, I’d be disappointed if there’s not! I love the depth of field here, the way the colours draw you in to the stamen. A gorgeous runway for bees.

 

I'm lichen this picture.  Yeah, cheesy, I know.  Leaf me alone about it. ;)  Seriously, I like the colours in the lichen against the grey of the bark.  It's lovely.

I’m lichen this picture. Yeah, cheesy, I know. Leaf me alone about it. 😉 Seriously, I like the colours in the lichen against the grey of the bark. It’s lovely.

 

Guess what this is!  Figure it out yet?  No?  It's the reflector in a bike pedal.  I did tweak the brightness and contrast some but not much.

Guess what this is! Figure it out yet? No? It’s the reflector in a bike pedal. I did tweak the brightness and contrast some but not much.

I just like the symmetry of the gear wheels.  It's almost soothing.  And yes, it's in greyscale.  And yes, I'm strange.  If you don't know that by now, you're new. ;)

I just like the symmetry of the gear wheels. It’s almost soothing. And yes, it’s in greyscale. And yes, I’m strange. If you don’t know that by now, you’re new. 😉  Only a couple more to go.

 

 

Val thought this was water.  I put it in greyscale to focus on the texture.  It's the patio table out back.  Neat, eh?

Val thought this was water. I put it in greyscale to focus on the texture. It’s the patio table out back. Neat, eh?

Shame on me for not remembering what this is on.  The Boyfriend bought a new motorcycle.  I know it's a Honda but beyond that, I'm not sure.  He'll have to tell you.  This is an upshot of the back wheel.  Looks like it's something underwater, doesn't it?

Shame on me for not remembering bike model what this is on. The Boyfriend bought a new motorcycle. I know it’s a Honda but beyond that, I’m not sure. He’ll have to tell you. This is an upshot of the back wheel. Looks like it’s something underwater, doesn’t it?

And now for the last one, the weirdest of all the pictures, simply for the fact of what it is.  

Callie & I made popcorn chicken a couple of weeks ago and I liked the texture of the oil as it heated up. I had dropped a tiny piece of chicken into the pan to see if the oil was hot enough and it created this open, smooth as glass spot.  The light bulb from the range hood was incidental but totally made the shot.

Callie & I made popcorn chicken a couple of weeks ago and I liked the texture of the oil as it heated up. I had dropped a tiny piece of chicken into the pan to see if the oil was hot enough and it created this open, smooth as glass spot. The light bulb from the range hood was incidental but totally made the shot.

 

That’s it for me folks!  Time to wake The Boyfriend so I can go to the flea market and pick up some local fruits and veggies.  Have a great day and a lovely week.

Muah!

Aha!  The bike is a 1981 Honda CX500 Custom.

4 thoughts on “50 Shades of Green

  1. Gorgeous shots. The names of the flowers…the rudebeckia type flower at the top is called HerbstimSommer…it’s a wildflower that you can buy at a nursery for about $15. Save your money; the birds can plant if for you!! The bee is on gallardia and the pink daisy is actually a rudebeckia too. The lily is a tango lily. Again, beautiful pictures!!

    Like

    1. Thanks! I do my best with the names when you aren’t around to ask. Google isn’t always my friend. 😉

      After looking over the post it’s apparent I didn’t even really try to name the flowers. lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

