A Bird, a Bridge, a Skyline and Water

Hello!

Man oh man have I ever been sick this week!   We went to Niagara Falls on Tuesday to visit some friends and I have to tell you, we had a lot of fun, it was a lovely visit.  But it was toxic as hell.  We got stuck in a line of traffic at the border that was 90 minutes long.   All that exhaust, regular, hybrid and diesel was extremely difficult on us both.  

It left us both physically ill.  It was all I could do to stay upright until Friday.  I felt a lot better then… so long as I didn’t move too much.   Then I felt like I had the flu or, Val was afraid, like I was having a heart attack.  Sweaty, nauseous, heart racing, pale, exhausted.  Protein and rest helped straightened me out. 

We went to Hamilton the week before that and we will be going to Port Dover next week.  I will see about taking pictures there too.

I have pictures to show you of our travels.  And one little thing we found here at home.  

It’s not the best picture, taken on The Boyfriend’s phone and cropped to show just the bird on a wheel.  The re-sizing didn’t carry the resolution quality over.   The point is, we thought it was awesome.  I managed to get within three or four feet of him, taking pictures.  Really bad, hands shaking kind of thing, pictures.

A tiny wee bird resting on the spokes of Peter's bike.

A tiny wee bird resting on the spokes of Peter’s bike.

 

There are things I like about Hamilton, Ontario, and many things I don’t.  One of the things I like is that the city sweeps up from the coastline of  Lake Ontario to the top of a small mountain.  The roads curve and wind up and down and around this mountain.  The views, if you’re in the right spots, are gorgeous.  If you’re not… well, that’s a different story.  Here’s a small selection of the views.

The prettiest of the views.  Lovely blue sky only slightly polluted by Hamilton's industry - steel.

The second prettiest of the views. Lovely blue sky only slightly polluted by Hamilton’s industry – steel.

The most pretty of views.  Hamilton is very green in most places.  However...

The most pretty of views. Hamilton is very green in most places. However…

 

The collection of steel mills and other factories.  The lend the air a certain... flavour as you come around from the north.

The collection of steel mills and other factories. The lend the air a certain… flavour as you come around from the north.

The lake behind the picture does lend it a certain beauty, like a dirty but very cute child.  

Sort of.

Maybe it’s more like slapping a coat of paint and a few flowers on a run down trailer park, eh?  😉

As I said, on Tuesday we went to Niagara Falls.  The American side, cleverly named the American Falls.  We had dinner at the Hard Rock Cafe and Debbie gave me her collector’s glass.  Wasn’t that nice of her?  Love her to bits, which is why she’s nicknamed ‘precious’.  *chuckles*

On the way there, we saw this…

... and figured that it was going to be a grand day.   The camera setting on my phone was at -2 exposure.  And we put Peter's sunglasses in front on top of that.  I tweaked the contrast a little bit in photoshop to intensify the effect.

… and figured that it was going to be a grand day. The camera setting on my phone was at -2 exposure. And we put Peter’s sunglasses in front on top of that. I tweaked the contrast a little bit in Photoshop to intensify the effect.

Still, it forecasted a lovely day.   The night before, James, Debbie’s Master, told us that thunderstorms were in the forecast for the day.  Hours of them.   He suggested that we postpone it.  I rejected his suggestion – and that of the t-storms – and we went ahead with our plans.  Turned out to be a gorgeous day.

Then we went to the park lining the Falls.   I took a bunch of pictures.  Some of them, I’m afraid, I took over the top of Peter’s head because it was a little crowded for a while.  Happens that the following two pictures were taken that way and are my favourites.   The angles are a little off.  The horizon is tilted in the second one and the fence is on a sloping bit of land heading towards the edge of the cliff.  It’s kind of difficult to look at as it gives you a bit of vertigo.  

Love the mist and all the blues with the Canadian Niagara Falls town in silhouette on the other side of the river.

Love the mist and all the blues with the Canadian Niagara Falls town in silhouette on the other side of the river.

I like this in black and white.  I even like the bit of vertigo it gives you.

I like this in black and white. I even like the bit of vertigo it gives you.

Finally, a look down the river and a view of the trestles of the Rainbow Bridge, sloping cliff walls.  It’s a gorgeous view.

Rainbow Bridge

Hate the bridge.  Hate it.  

It was a good, good day.  

And now I’m off to have ice cream with my children.

Muah.

 

Leave a Reply

