Motorcycle Macros

Good morning!  (Again!)

Peter is taking apart his new motorcycle – the 1981 Honda CX500 – to clean and repair and basically make it new and improved and HIS so I decided that I wanted macro shots.  I have several, so I’m just going to get right to it.  Explanations for Photoshop work will be underneath the photo.

This is the seat. Camera is set on super macro. Had to set the focus away from where I wanted the shot to happen and then set the camera down.  Then I  put it in greyscale and cropped it just a little bit.

This is the seat. Camera is set on super macro. Had to set the focus away from where I wanted the shot to happen and then set the camera down. Then I put it in greyscale and cropped it just a little bit.

The spring on the angle is the shock and the vertical one is a passenger peg.  I adjusted the saturation until it was *almost* greyscale

The spring on the angle is the shock and the vertical one is a passenger peg. I adjusted the saturation until it was *almost* greyscale

 

This is the rear brake pedal.  I dimmed the brightness and upped the contrast until I got the look I wanted.  Very dramatic, isn't it?  Peter had no idea what it was.  lol

This is the rear brake pedal. I dimmed the brightness and upped the contrast until I got the look I wanted. Very dramatic, isn’t it? Peter had no idea what it was. lol

 

Speaking of brake pedals.  This is the brake pedal adjuster bolt.  When Peter first saw this picture he said "Where is that bolt?"  When I showed him, he tightened it!  *laughs* I did almost nothing to this one, a minor adjustment of hue & saturation.

Speaking of brake pedals. This is the brake pedal adjuster bolt. When Peter first saw this picture he said “Where is that bolt?” When I showed him, he tightened it! *laughs* I did almost nothing to this one, a minor adjustment of hue & saturation.

 

Shiny.  Even when it's dirty.  This is the muffler.  Took this picture much the same way as the stitching.  And I've done nothing to this picture.  It came out perfectly just the way it is.

Shiny. Even when it’s dirty. This is the muffler. Took this picture much the same way as the stitching. And I’ve done nothing to this picture. It came out perfectly just the way it is.

 

For this picture of the engine underside, I brought the saturation down until it was close to greyscale but still in colour.  Enhanced what was already there.

For this picture of the engine underside, I brought the saturation down until it was close to greyscale but still in colour. Enhanced what was already there.

 

This stark picture is part of the logo plate on one side of the bike.  Toyed with the brightness/contrast here but that's it.

This stark picture is part of the logo plate on one side of the bike. Toyed with the brightness/contrast here but that’s it.

 

Finally, this dizzying bit of orange is one of the blinker lenses.  I love the hints of red in it.  All  I did for this one is the auto-contrast.

Finally, this dizzying bit of orange is one of the blinker lenses. I love the hints of red in it. All I did for this one is the auto-contrast.

 

I was on my hands and knees and flat on my back for most of these pictures!  I thought they came out rather well and I delivered upon my promise to do a less organic, more mechanical set of photos.  I enjoyed taking them and offering a different view of the bike.  

That’s it for me folks!  I’m off to see my sister, have a little one on one time.  Haven’t seen her in like 10 years, though we talk fairly often.  

Have a great day!  

Muah!

Leave a Reply

