Sunset Scenery

Hello my funky darlings! 

Yes, sometimes I have to pretend I’m the Rodney Skinner, aka the Invisible Man, in League of Extraordinary Gentlemen.  He’s irreverent, a thief (dammit, I cannot spell worth a damn today!  That’s four words I’ve had to correct already), funny and dead sexy… what you can see of him anyway.   Haven’t seen the movie?  Should be on Netflix or Hulu or what have you.

Anyway!  Today, I have for you…  *drum roll*  scenery!  In case you couldn’t tell from the title.  Most of it is from the beach but I have one I took when we stopped because the sunset was so spectacular we couldn’t help but get the cameras out.   Unfortunately, all I  had was my phone.  I took three pictures but this one is my favourite.  All I’ve done to it is resize the picture (I take big pictures) to take up less space on my blog storage here.  

I call it.... "Purple Sunset."  I've got some imagination eh?  ;)

I call it…. “Purple Sunset.” I’ve got some imagination eh? 😉

What follows are pictures from the pier.  Or beside the pier.  Or damned near under the pier.   The wind was up and the water was frolicking and dancing.   The sun was setting, as it usually does, but with little pomp or circumstance on this day.    It was merely retiring quietly so that it could wake people up elsewhere.

There are a couple of ways I took pictures.  I took the picture of the gulls on my normal camera settings but I was in for a surprise when I got it into Photoshop.  When I pressed alt+ctrl+shift+L (auto contrast) the colours changed to almost posterized.  I hit ctrl+shift+L (auto colour) and the result was… well, pure awesomeness.  For the pictures I took alongside the pier (and I’m only showing you one) I stood right up against the wall, held the camera down at waist level and pressed the shutter.  You may get the impression I wasn’t looking in the viewfinder, you’d be correct.  My lower back, hips and knees are getting bad enough that kneeling to take the shots wasn’t going to happen.  So what you’re going to see in that picture is pretty much what the hem of my sweater saw.  *laughs*  

The coastline curves in a pretty arc north and south of us but to the south it looked like a scene from a Stephen King movie.  All pretty and misty, but you just know there are monsters hiding in the mist, waiting for the stupid college kid who says “What’s that!?” and grabs a flashlight.   I took a few pictures, trying to capture it.  My son said one version of it was better (before the auto-contrast) and I think the post-auto-contrast is better.  I’ll let you decide.  

Here we go.

Fabulous, isn't it?  I love the effects, the way the colours pop and the gulls came alive.

Fabulous, isn’t it? I love the effects, the way the colours pop and the gulls came alive.

Apparently, I decided which was better after all.  *laughs* This is the curve post auto-contrast.  Pretty eh?

Apparently, I decided which was better after all. *laughs* This is the curve post auto-contrast. Pretty eh?  I didn’t quite capture what I was seeing but I still like the picture.

"Pier Pressure"  :D  I'm a dork, I realize that.  This is one of the waist high pictures.  Such motion, such violence. Love it!

“Pier Pressure” 😀 I’m a dork, I realize that. This is one of the waist high pictures. Such motion, such violence. Love it!

I'm not sure why the colours in this one are crisper, they both had the same treatment, but it's okay.  I like it.  I like how off-kilter it is too.

I’m not sure why the colours in this one are crisper, they both had the same treatment, but it’s okay. I like it. I like how off-kilter it is too.

I like the perspective in this.  The focus is at such a distance that it makes the pier look a mile long.  I like the colours and shadows.

I like the perspective in this. The focus is at such a distance that it makes the pier look a mile long. I like the colours and shadows.

So why would I put it in greyscale?  Just to see.  I like it though.

So why would I put it in greyscale? Just to see. I like it though.

 

My town fair is coming up and once again I will be looking to submit a photograph, if possible.  Last year it was just “Junior Photographers.”  Hopefully they’ll be open to adults this year.  They should be.  

I am off to do some work on Birdie & Rolf’s story.  I’m a bit stuck on HW3.  It’s like a hamster running on its wheel in my head so I’m going to take my brain away from it for a bit and see what happens.  

Have a great day everyone!  Muah!

Leave a Reply

