This Week in Pictures

Hi there 🙂

Busy busy week this week.  

Started out with a trip to see a psychiatrist.   That was interesting and I have yet another diagnosis.  … Well, no, not true.  It’s just been confirmed, that’s all.  Time to learn more about PTSD.  

Tuesday was a whole lot of nothing but suffering.  *laughs*  By Wednesday, however, I was doing well enough to do some laundry and The Boyfriend showed up to take me to lunch and we went to the beach.   See my last blog for the results of that.  It was a lovely, lovely day.

And then we went to the International Plowing Match on Thursday.  😀  Why?   My Dad works for Hydro One, Ontario’s power supply company and they had a large display there.  Dad was talking about various energy conservation projects and ways they’re making their own systems more efficient.  

The Boyfriend on the left.  Dad in the hat.  The weird hat.

The Boyfriend on the left. Dad in the hat. The weird hat.

We saw some of Hydro One’s awesome machinery too.

 

This drops those big electrical poles into place.   They still have to dig the holes but this is awesome.  That pincer on the front is almost as tall as me!

This drops those big electrical poles into place. They still have to dig the holes but this is awesome. That pincer on the front is almost as tall as me!

Look at the size of that!  It has a cherry picker on the back and a plow - for brush - on the front.  They use it for clearing out brush and trees that are interfering with their ability to get to the lines.

Look at the size of that! It has a cherry picker on the back and a plow – for brush – on the front. They use it for clearing out brush and trees that are interfering with their ability to get to the lines.

This is the Bronto Skylift.  They have three of them and the tallest can reach  60 meters into the air.  They are articulated so that they can get above and over hazards like other power lines and trees to solve any problems they're trying to fix.

This is the Bronto Skylift. They have three of them and the tallest can reach 60 meters into the air. They are articulated so that they can get above and over hazards like other power lines and trees to solve any problems they’re trying to fix.

Another vehicle we saw was this thing:

How serious about golf do you have to be to own this?  ;)

How serious about golf do you have to be to own this? 😉

Extreme golf!  Don’t suppose they’d allow this in the Masters eh?  *laughs*

I also found this guy:

I love gargoyles.  Unfortunately, I don't have the creator's business card with me.  I'll have to look for it when I get to my home.

I love gargoyles. Unfortunately, I don’t have the creator’s business card with me. I’ll have to look for it when I get to my home.

On Thursday I dogsit my kids’ dog.  While out in the morning I found three spider web traps like this:

I swear to all the Gods that the spider was the size of a 4 day old baby mouse!

I swear to all the Gods that the spider was the size of a 4 day old baby mouse!

Blame Google for the super detailed description.  😀

Friday saw us working at the cottage to make it livable and on Saturday GirlKid came to help me with the gardens.  She did not appreciate the work.  *chuckles*  The lovely landlady here chose to put quartz stones in as mulch many years ago and now we’re digging them up and trying to rejuvenate the gardens.  And that’s what GirlKid was helping me with.  Peter was doing digging of his own.  But at the end of it, I took her to the beach.  This is what we (well, I, the chick with the camera) saw through the day:

Fall!  Today is the first full day of Autumn, in fact.  I love this picture.  The leaf is so crisp and colourful.

Fall! Today is the first full day of Autumn, in fact. I love this picture. The leaf is so crisp and colourful.

 

Mating mosquito hawks.  Don't *see* that very often.  They want to breed?  Sure!  They eat bitey insects.

Mating mosquito hawks. Don’t *see* that very often. They want to breed? Sure! They eat bitey insects.

It was a very windy day at the beach.  Quite cool too.

It was a very windy day at the beach. Quite cool too.  Love the colours here.

A storm is building in the distance.  I love the quality of this picture, even if the blurriness was completely unintentional.  The colour was achieved by turning up the Red and Yellow in the Colour Balance.

A storm is building in the distance. I love the quality of this picture, even if the blurriness was completely unintentional. The colour was achieved by turning up the Red and Yellow in the Colour Balance.

 

The rest of the weekend has been spent digging and cutting the dead off trees.  Yes, I am a saw wielding maniac! *insert evil cackle*

Val says “Poor trees” but it’s healthier to have the dead gone than keep it there.  

Thanks to the synthroid I am now on I am clearer-headed most of the time, )pain levels are somewhat high today and that brings the brain power down *laughs*), so I will be going back to writing regularly.  

Tomorrow we’re going to see the grandbaby!  She will also be five months old tomorrow!  We’re taking her a Hallowe’en outfit.  Not a costume, just something cutsie.  😀  We can hardly wait.

Have a wonderful remainder of your Sunday and a good week!  I will be posting about tomorrow’s visit and my writing through the week.  I’m going to try to anyway.

Muah!

 

OH! Before I forget!   THe Shades of Pink Project is already going and it is going very well!  So far it’s raised $1670 for the US breast cancer awareness and $40 for the Australian counterpart!   I am thrilled and I know KallySten is too.  It’s phenomenal already and it’s only been a week, we have seven weeks left to go.  Keep it up!  If you haven’t got yours, you can get it here:  http://www.stayclassy.org/fundraise?fcid=261380

2 thoughts on “This Week in Pictures

Leave a Reply

