Beaches, Blessings & Critters

Good morning, my lovelies.  

Yes, it’s been too long since my last blog (Sept 30th!  Bad me.)  Life has been a little busy and I have spent a few days kind of out of it.  

Let’s do things in order shall we?  First, the beach!   

I went out for a walk the day after my birthday.  It was beautiful!  All misty and damp and cool.  Looked like a scene straight out of Stephen King’s The Mist.  I had my big rubber boots on so I got to wander into the water and onto the sandbars.  It was wonderful.

I was able to wander close to 50' into the water and explore the sandbars and shallow waters for quite a way.

I was able to wander close to 50′ into the water and explore the sandbars and shallow waters for quite a way.

It was warm enough I was in a t-shirt and jeans.  Hard to believe for the 6th of October.

It was warm enough I was in a t-shirt and jeans. Hard to believe for the 6th of October.

It’s days like that, days where I get to go to the beach and hang out with The Boyfriend just wandering around looking at the awesomeness that is Mother Earth, that I get to thinking about how blessed I am.  I posted this on my personal facebook the night before my birthday:

On this, the last day of my thirties, I found myself cursing the fact that I am unable to speak. Not to mention how much it hurts to swallow.

Then I started to think…

I am blessed beyond measure.

I have the love of not one, but TWO men who do so with great passion and who also accept me, all of me, without reservation.

I have two beautiful, brilliant children.

I have an amazing circle of friends and family who love me and support me. Including an ex-husband I actually get along with and count as one of my best friends. Most of the time

I can’t say I have my health, but I can say it’s not as bad as it could be. I can still walk. I may have had to learn about new things I can do that I love but I can do those things, happily. And I can still smile.

All in all, I am very happy with my life and I will step into the next chapter with no fear and no angst. Life is what I will make it, with the help of those who love me best.

I was sick the Thursday before my birthday and it tore up my throat.  I was very angry about it.  Still though, I managed to see all that good in my life.  I couldn’t see the positive in the being sick or the sore throat but I decided to look beyond that…. and look what I found.  

*smiles*   

It’s Thanksgiving weekend in Canada and I am definitely thankful for all I have.

While I was on my walk I noticed some snails.  I have loved snails since I was a kid.  I can’t stand them on me anymore but they are fascinating.  Slugs with decorated spiral shells.   Their shells grow as they do; the shell is a part of them, like an arm or a leg.  Those deceptively simple little creatures can be hugely destructive.  Nevertheless, I love they way they look.  Especially like this…

Laboriously climbing the rail up the stairs from the beach.  The slick rusty rail must've been a huge challenge.

Laboriously climbing the rail up the stairs from the beach. The slick rusty rail must’ve been a huge challenge.

This one is on the side of the bench halfway up the stairs.  I named him Snerd.  Don't know why.  *laughs*

This one is on the side of the bench halfway up the stairs. I named him Snerd. Don’t know why. *laughs*

I love the colours and the curves in this picture.  It's all so... earthy and inviting.

I love the colours and the curves in this picture. It’s all so… earthy and inviting.

The cat and I are out on the deck (Mr. I’m an Indoor Cat But I Have to Chase the Falling Leaves is leashed to the deck) and it’s a glorious fall day.  I might be alone this weekend but I am still thankful for all I have.  

Have a fantastic weekend, whether it’s short or long, and count your blessings!

Muah.

Leave a Reply

