A Sneak Peek

I am excited to be back to work. I’ve been working on the pages for my website and I thought I would offer you, my lovelies, a sneak peak at a couple pages.

The site will be set up so that you can see lists of books and your favourite characters. Each one will be clickable, leading to a more in depth view.  There will be book summaries, character explorations, blog access, samples and freebies  (in general, freebies will be NaNo books offered at a chapter a week.  We are still trying to find the best way to do that but we will figure it out!).   Oh that reminds me, there needs to be more buttons.  One more at least, “Freebies”.  

Today I am sharing portions of a book excerpt page and a character bio page.  Let me know what you think!

All of the biography pages are set up the same way.

All of the biography pages are set up the same way.

The excerpts will be linked too from the bottom of the related book summary page.

The excerpts will be linked too from the bottom of the related book summary page.

I am trying to make the site as easy to navigate as possible.  With the buttons across the top you’ll be able to find the section you’re looking for and then you can go from there.  Trying to describe what I want is confusing (according to my daughter anyway) but it’s basically like nested links, I think.   Let’s give it a shot:

To start with, you get the home page:

 

You click on my name and it will take you to the Highland Wolves book page (I think, we haven’t decided where clicking the banner will take you).  Across the header are buttons.  If you click on Characters it will take you to a list of Highland Wolves top six characters.  Each picture will be clickable.  Clicking on Anna will take you to the in depth character bio.  Clicking the back button will take you back to the list.  

There are some navigation issues I’m still working on and things I need to talk to Val (who was given the title of Manager a few months ago because she helps me with absolutely everything) about.  I would like to hear from you all what pisses you off about your favourite author’s webpages, what you find most difficult and what you would change.

Hmmm… I do like the Connect button on Kallysten’s site (it lists other places to find her- Twitter, Goodreads etc).  

So tell me!  I’m listening.  (Admit it, you read that in Fraser Crane’s voice, I certainly said it that way *laughs*)

2 thoughts on “A Sneak Peek

Leave a Reply

