Beauty and Texture

Good morning!  

It is the first time in weeks that I can mostly see in the light without wanting to tear my eyes out so I thought I would share a few pictures from the past month with you.  The first one is from over the Christmas holidays.  Terror and I were at the cottage with The Boyfriend for a few days.  We draped a blanket from home over the big chair by the window so the feline would feel more settled.  He spent a lot of time there and there was this one moment of sheer perfection that I just had to capture.  

I did change the contrast slightly but other than that ...I changed nothing.

I did change the contrast slightly but other than that you see what we saw.

Next (in chronological order) I have some texture for you.  I’m not going to tell you what it is just yet.  I altered the hue and sharpened the edges of this macro shot to make it just a little more challenging.  

Texture Within

Can you guess?

Haven’t figured it out?  

No, it’s not bread.  

Not a muffin.

That’s right!  It’s cake.  Gluten free, corn free, soy free cake.  Girlkid turned 14  at the end of the year and I made her a Mortal Instruments cake.  Turned out rather well, considering I had to cut the glyph from sugar paper.  (It tore a little but GK said that made it look like it was battle worn.  *chuckles*)   The cake came out light and fluffy. 

Yesterday we were about an hour early for my doctor’s appointment.  Neither of us is entirely sure how that happened but I decided I wanted to brave this arctic chill to get some pictures.   It was so cold the air glittered.  Seriously.  It sparkled.  We’re not entirely sure why but it was like any moisture in the air was freezing.  Fuck it was cold!  Our picture taking venture lasted all of 6 minutes.  *laughs* 

I tried to photograph the sparkly air…

...but it didn't work as well as I'd hoped.

…but it didn’t work as well as I’d hoped.

You can see it a little in The Boyfriend’s back (it looks like your screen is dirty, no?) but other than that, not so much.

I did,  however, get some pretty hoar frost pictures.  These two pictures I leave you with were the best of the bunch.  I did a colour overlay with the second one (in an attempt at a sepia tone) because I liked the idea of doing it in black and white but I didn’t like the result.  I liked the hint of blue sky in an otherwise light and shadow picture.

I leave you with the pretty and go do some work.  I have a lot to catch up on.  Thanks to the almost-three-week migraine I haven’t been able to do SFA because I haven’t been able to concentrate.  Today is somewhat better so I’m going to work at finishing Birdie & Rolf and allow myself room to be distracted.  

Muah!

Bright berries! Tweaked the contrast a little.

Bright berries! Tweaked the contrast a little.

I promise you, the object in the center had no colour.  The only colour is the hint of blue in the sky.  Love the picture.

I promise you, the object in the center had no colour. The only colour is the hint of blue in the sky. Love the picture.

Trouble commenting?  Click here.

3 thoughts on “Beauty and Texture

Leave a Reply

