Exercise Update

This is what I feel like some days, only less happy. ;)  (Image courtesy of www.creativeexpeditions.com)

This is what I feel like some days, only less happy. 😉 (Image courtesy of http://www.creativeexpeditions.com)

Phew!

I have to remember that I am not always going to see progress.  Sometimes things in my life conspire to make me hurt more.  Some of them are things I have no control over, some are things I choose to do – whether because I feel I have to or because it’s something I want to do.  

Last week was an insanely busy week for me and I caught my daughter’s cold.  This week it’s left me hurting – yesterday I could barely stand and had to skip all but the final stretches (and even most of those).  Then last night I helped my daughter learn to touch her toes.  … Well, it was about learning to relax into the stretches and movements but it amounted to the same thing.

My goals are to strive to do them every day Monday – Friday and to increase them every week.  Last week I added 2 minutes to my elliptical time and, when I can get on it this week, that is still holding up, even if there are very slow moments.   I’m mostly doing 35-40 rpms, which makes me happy and gets my heart rate up into the 90s.  Resting heart rate is in the mid-60s and, given my age, weight and near sedentary lifestyle, that’s pretty spectacular.

Then again, I get monster headaches when my blood pressure goes up and I make a concentrated effort to keep my blood pressure and heart rate down.  I’m hoping to be able to get rid of the medication some day.  Bio-feedback is an excellent way to help with it too.  

Reminds me.  I should ask my doctor about making it a necessary part of my health regime and prescribing one for me.  

And I have to remember that I have to listen to my body.  I HAVE to.  I want to stay out of a wheelchair and that means being smarter about my physical care.  I just turned 40 and I’m at risk for losing my ability to walk.  It’s time, past time, to fix that.

To check where your heart rate is and where it should be check out this site.

Now…  How are YOU doing with your health goals?

2 thoughts on “Exercise Update

  1. I’m very proud of you! I’m drinking anywhere from 5 to 7 16.9 oz bottles of water a day, IF I drink coke it’s now only 4 to 8 oz a day or every other day versus the 6 to 8 12oz cans a DAY that I was drinking 20 days ago. and I try to do some sort of exercise for at least 30 mins a day. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

