Winter Melt

Good afternoon, boys and girls!  

I have four pictures of the lake for you today.  Two are from last Sunday and two are from this past Friday.  The difference (even though they’re not taken from quite the same vantage point) is astounding.  

It seems like almost the entire Northern Hemisphere has been under a deep freeze the last couple of months and it’s managed to freeze the Great Lakes.  Being on the coast of Lake Huron, I get to see that firsthand.  I love our beach all year long; which is not something I thought I would ever say!  Beaches are for summer.  Mostly naked bodies, hot sun, screaming children, volleyball; that’s the beach.  Not snow and ice and bone chilling breezes.

We went for a walk last Sunday.  It was a short walk, given how cold the wind was, but we went and I took a few pictures.  There are two I’m not sharing because they’ve been spoiled by something appearing in the picture that wasn’t there when I looked through the viewfinder.  

The first two pictures show all the ice and snow.  I did get to walk on the lake and, even though I fell on my ass, it was fun knowing that I was tromping around on top of deep(ish) water.  However, I took these pictures from the pier.  They are interesting, not only because you don’t know where the sky lake ends and the sky begins on the horizon but because of the effect.  I took the pictures on a bright, sunny, blindingly white day with my camera set on ‘Landscape’.  On my camera the pictures came out kind of dark and grey (over exposure much?).  When I put them in Photoshop and pressed Alt+Ctrl+Shift+L I got… well, it’s better to show you.

This is to the north of the pier. As you can see, the effect is, well, odd.

This is to the north of the pier. As you can see, the effect is, well, odd.

This is to the south of the pier.  The effect might be odd but it's also pretty cool.

This is to the south of the pier. The effect might be odd but it’s also pretty cool.

These next two pictures were taken on Friday.   The Boyfriend drove down to the beach on the way into town after picking me up because I was curious what the warmer weather had done.  I didn’t expect much difference really; after all, my roof hadn’t leaked.  Imagine my surprise when I saw this…

...as we were coming down the road.

…as we were coming down the road.

Oh my Gods!  Water!  And look how stunningly blue it is.

Took this from under the gazebo because it was simply far too windy to head out onto the pier.

Took this from under the gazebo because it was simply far too windy to head out onto the pier.

I wasn’t quite dressed properly either.  

The several FEET of snow and ice on top of the lake warmed up and melted pretty quickly.  We are so used to seeing this water as shades of green and brown that this rich, royal blue was quite a surprise.  

It’s definitely gorgeous but I will be glad when spring rolls around.

Have a wonderful afternoon, folks.

Muah!  

 

Congratulations Team Canada! 

Leave a Reply

