Little Pleasures

“It has long been an axiom of mine that the little things are infinitely the most important.”

~Arthur Conan Doyle, The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes

Let me preface this blog by saying that I fucked up my hand and my typing will suffer some.  Honestly, I thought about some polite way to say “fucked up” but ….nope, I fucked it up.  I had a PTSD flashback this past week.  It’s a scary thing, being locked in a cage in my own mind watching as this monster erupts out of me and attempts to destroy my life.  My daughter was witness to this – again, poor girl – and I wish she hadn’t been.

Useless statement that, “I wish”.  It doesn’t change anything.

Anyway, I near-destroyed my hand.  It’s astonishing that I didn’t break it but two knuckles are somewhat dislocated and nerves and tendons are damaged.  It’s not wrapped or anything though, aside from a piece of cloth wrapped around it to remind me not to use it.  The urgent care place didn’t do a very good job, I think.

It does bring to mind that life is 90% the little things.  There are many big things – weddings, births, deaths, promotions – but every day life is about the little things.   Your tea being just right when you get up.   The colour of the sky when it’s just that perfect shade of blue and it’s your day off.  Spontaneous visits with friends – we had four friends visit yesterday. We are so isolated in our sensitivities and geographical location that it just doesn’t happen. Ice cream on the beach at sunset.  The smile of a stranger when you’re feeling blue.

You get the idea.  Today’s photos are about just those moments. I have a sunset for you (from ice cream on the beach, with friends); unexpected bursts of colour in my days and a very happy dog, just because.

Oh, all of these pictures were taken with my camera’s phone, an 8MP with 4X zoom.  Takes decent macro shots and focuses enough to take mostly decent action shots.

Though not all of them are good shots.   (Ginger snaps are GREAT cookies)

Though not all of them are good shots. (Ginger snaps are GREAT cookies)

Here we go with this week’s pictures:

Looks like he's sailing into the sunset but he's heading south.  It was a gorgeous evening.

Looks like he’s sailing into the sunset but he’s heading south. It was a gorgeous evening.

Pretty tiny flowers of purple Phlox.

Pretty tiny flowers of purple Phlox.

This plant, which grows a lot in ditches and swampy fields, is called Dame's Rocket.

This plant, which grows a lot in ditches and swampy fields, is called Dame’s Rocket.

A paler version.  I think they're really pretty but they tend to have a lot of bugs in them.

A paler version. I think they’re really pretty but they tend to have a lot of bugs in them.

Close up  of a dandelion gone to seed.  I love the shapes and the contrast between the white and the darkness of the green.

Close up of a dandelion gone to seed. I love the shapes and the contrast between the white and the darkness of the green.

One very happy dog.  "Toffee! Look at the camera!" I said.  That's what I got.

One very happy dog. “Toffee! Look at the camera!” I said. That’s what I got.

It’s been a four day weekend for us.  The kids went riding with their dad and we brought both the cat and my daughter’s dog to the cottage.  It’s been a nice weekend, busy, active, social.  I’m happy.   Today is home day for everyone.  Mostly happy about that too.

Tomorrow is my first lidocaine infusion.  That should be interesting. I’ll let you all know all about it.

hmm…Guess my typing didn’t suffer too badly for using my non-dominant hand and one finger.  *laughs*  

Muah

Leave a Reply

