Beginnings and Endings

Earlier this week I talked about my Gramma and I mentioned that I had a photo blog for you that was about beginnings and endings.  Today I have the time to write the blog out (if I can quell the Oh-look!-A-squirrel! moments) before we go to something called Pawlooza. It’s touted as “the ultimate dog party” and is a fundraiser/awareness raiser for various rescue shelters.  Lots of events.  We’re going because, for some bizarre reason, I have this intense feeling of NEED-TO-BE-THERE.  

But first, the blog.

If you’re a long time follower, or even if you have just skimmed through my photos, you may have noticed that I have a love of the details, the minutiae of nature.  I love the structures, the way things are formed, the processes and progression in the way Mother Nature does things.   Whether it’s flora, fauna or the way the waves break on the beach, I love it all.  

Today I have nine photos for you that are the beginnings and endings of several flowers.  I don’t have the beginning and ending of each flower – for instance, I have three pictures of a Japanese Anemone for you: the buds, one in colour and one in black & white, and the bloom, but not the end of that life cycle –  but I do have some fascinating pictures. 

Nature amazes me, all the time.  If I could make a living photographing it, I would.  I’d still write as I traveled the country taking pictures, of course.  I can never stop writing but to be able to do both would be astounding.  I’d have to take my daughter.   She’d slaughter me in my sleep if I left her behind.

On to the pictures!   

You know, I really am surprised that I don’t have a picture of a peony in full bloom.   I have one in the process of blooming that I’ve shown you before and now, I have this for you:

The peony at the end of its life cycle.  The structure is fascinating!  I wonder what makes it do that.

The peony at the end of its life cycle. The structure is fascinating! I wonder what makes it do that.

The next one I have for you is the Oriental Poppy.   Given how many of them grow at goldi’s, I’m really surprised I have never photographed one in full bloom.  I love poppies.  They’re so pretty, bright and tall.   What I have here for you is what happens when the bloom is done.  This one makes more sense than the peony does. 😉

 

You can see how the structure of the bloom would lead to this.  I snapped this picture because it's... well, creepy.  And alien.  It looks like it's waiting to open a yawning mouth of teeth and eat you.  Like the Sarlacc in Return of the Jedi

You can see how the structure of the bloom would lead to this. I snapped this picture because it’s… well, creepy. And alien. It looks like it’s waiting to open a yawning mouth of teeth and eat you. Like the Sarlacc in Return of the Jedi

If it makes you feel better, I had to look up the name of the monster, even though I knew exactly what I was talking about.  Does that make me seem less nerdy?

No?

hmm… okay.  I love Star Wars, won’t deny it. 😀

Next up we have the Rudebeckia, aka black-eyed susan.  I have actually shown you this one in full bloom before. This is the beginning of the bloom’s life cycle.  (See?  I’m not all about death here *laughs*)

I was surprised to learn that this blooms into the black and yellow, fifteen petal (I counted) flower.  Fascinating, eh?

I was surprised to learn that this blooms into the black and yellow, fifteen petal (I counted) flower. Fascinating, eh?  I love the rows and rows and tiny pointed green leaflets.  

Anyone remember Little Shop of Horrors?  No?  I do.  We did a production of it in high school.  This hibiscus bud I’m about to show you reminds me of Audrey II, in a really loose way.  It turns into the large, very pretty dinner plate hibiscus.

Can you see the resemblance?

Can you see the resemblance?

Next up is the Gaillardia, aka the Blanket Flower.  I chose this particular picture because it shows the bloom and the end of the cycle.  It’s a beautiful flower and goldi has an abundance of them in her garden.

It looks like a chrysanthemum firework!      It, too, mostly makes sense.

It looks like a chrysanthemum firework! It, too, mostly makes sense.

Last up, I have the pictures of the Japanese Anemone (I keep wanting to say ‘anenome’.  Guess it’s my word, like people with cinnamon or aluminum).  I took several pictures because I love the way this flower looks as a bud, almost more so than the bloom.  I have my favourite here for you, plus the black and white treatment and a photo of it in bloom.  I decided to subject you to only those three photos.;)

Weird, eh?

Weird, eh?

I like the shadows and contrasts here.

I like the shadows and contrasts here.

Such a pretty flower to come from the zebra striped bud.

Such a pretty flower to come from the zebra striped bud.

*looks longingly at the garden across the road*  It would be nice if I could get the man across the road to let me wander around and take pictures.  He has such beautiful flowers, including my favourite – the rose.  

These are my offerings for you this week.  The next photoblog will be at Lake Huron again. There are almost endless ways to photograph the lake and beach.

Well… maybe not… but it does certainly continually offer different opportunities.  

Off to get The Boyfriend up and get moving and shaking our tails at Pawlooza.  Have a great day, folks!

Muah.

5 thoughts on “Beginnings and Endings

Leave a Reply

