Capturing the Wind and the Moon

Don't look on the verge of 41, do I?

Don’t look on like I’m on the verge of 41, do I? 

 So, hi!  

I swear my face changes every time I take a picture of it.  I’ve had people I went to high school with tell me I don’t look a day older than when we graduated.  My sister says I look thirty.

Honestly, it doesn’t really matter to me.  I like being pretty but I think every pretty person does.  I don’t want to be liked for my face, although if that’s the reason you stopped to talk to me, that’s fine.   Just don’t make it the reason you like (or don’t) like me.  I am far, far more than a pretty face.  

Being a sex symbol has to do with an attitude, not looks. Most men think it’s looks, most women know otherwise.
Kathleen Turner

 

Anyway! I have no idea where that rant came from. O.o   I do have a photoblog for you today.  It is elemental but limited to two – wind and water.  I have a fascination for both.  And fire.  And, well, earth too.  

Apparently, I just like the elements.  If you believe that there are five elements (Spirit being the fifth) then you have the solid core of the source of my energy.   Today we are talking about just two of them, although I do believe that spirit winds through each and every element as well as each and every thing.  I believe I have managed to capture the raw passion of Wind and Water.

Speaking of raw passion... The Boyfriend also says hi.

Speaking of raw passion… The Boyfriend also says hi.

He was laying on the sand with me standing over him.  He (whimsically) says now that this was his way of “capturing the raw passion of the wind and water.”  *grins*

It was a really windy day and we were dressed like it was late September, not mid-August.  It was fantastic watching the water on the waves and the pier is the first place we went when we arrived.  I did my best to capture the twisted way the waves came together.

I like the long line of the pier and the way the waves crash against it and into each other before washing up to shore.

I like the long line of the pier and the way the waves crash against it and into each other before washing up to shore.

Peter describes the next picture as “powerful.”   He says the lake has a lot of power in it. I love the sunlight on it and the curl of the wave as it begins to become whitewater (can you tell I don’t surf?).  The whitewater itself, in all the coming pictures, is fierce and deadly looking.

It's beautiful, raw and yet somehow serene.

It’s beautiful, raw and yet somehow serene.

This next picture was much taller but Peter felt this was a better representation of the look I was going for.    Actually, I’ll post them both, so you can see what I saw vs what he sees.  I do agree that his version of it is wonderful.  I took it from the boardwalk because the family made me smile.

Cropped shot.

Cropped shot.

The tall, original shot. Peter finds the sun too bright, too distracting. It is bright but my vision was of the family playing in the lake as the day waned, despite the chilled wind.  The sun was dropping, the clouds were coming in, it was getting chillier and yet, this family persevered in their fun.

Which is better?

Which is better?

With this next picture I wanted the rush of the water from beach level.  What I got was a pale sky, pale(ish) water and pale beige sand.  I got the power I was looking for but the impact of the colours was gone.  I wasn’t achieving the look I was going for with Curves, contrast/brightness or hue & saturation.  I was looking at the menu and saw something I’ve never noticed before – Selective Colours. 

Imagine my excitement when I realized I could adjust each colour individually on half a dozen levels!  So I played with it.  Of course.  This is what I came up with:

Isn't it pretty?

It’s still pale but…isn’t it pretty?

I had a friend while I was sitting on the beach.  He hopped along with me as I slowly meandered.  When I was still, so was he.

Say hello to my little feathered friend.

Say hello to my little feathered friend.  

The gritty contrastiness (it’s a word) plagued a lot of the pictures I took and I’m  not quite sure why.  I did take these pictures with my phone.  Largely because I *gasp* forgot I had my other camera with me.

Now, I told you I captured the wind and so I did:

Wild and free.  Fierce and powerful.

Wild and free. Fierce and powerful.

I also said I captured the moon.

It was a rock the size of my palm.  I couldn't resist the picture.

It was a rock the size of my palm. I couldn’t resist the picture.  It does look like a crescent moon.

I did resist picking it up though.  It wasn’t meant for me.

I’m out, folks.  Time to make supper and relax until bedtime.  Tomorrow we start school hours.

Have a good evening!

Muah

Leave a Reply

