It’s a Lovely Dam Site

No, really.   I have photos of the Parkhill Dam Resevoir today.

Okay, so right now, I am finishing the last minute packing and getting ready to head to the airport.  This blog is being written a week in the past.  *cue spooky time travel music*  I am equally excited for this trip and terrified.  I’ve been dreaming about it since I was five years old and being given the trip was… awesome.  Not a penny being spent is mine and everything is covered.

It is incredibly generous and there is no way I can NOT go.  

But it will screw me up physically.  It will be toxic and it will cause physical repercussions likely to last for months.  

Oh well.  It’s going to be wonderful.   Would you turn down the trip, even with all the possible negative crap that could come out of it?

Nope.  Happy birthday to me!  (It’s also my birthday today, my 41st.)

On to the pictures!

The Parkhill Dam and the reservoir were created on the Parkhill Creek in 1969 to prevent further erosion and control serious flooding downstream.  It was meant to create a storage area and regulate the water flow of the creek.  It resulted in an 800-hectare conservation area that is home to extensive forests, marshy areas and new habitats for small animals like squirrels, rabbits and foxes.  A deer can occasionally be spotted too.  There are also varied species of bird and fish.  The conservation area opened up opportunities for windsurfing, canoeing, swimming, fishing, trail riding both on horseback and motorized vehicles and winter sports.  It’s a fantastic place and really quite gorgeous.  

I think I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves.  We were only at the lookout off Grand Bend Road so I don’t have much of a view of the entire place.  Where we were is gorgeous though.  I like the idea of going once or twice a month, like the second and fourth Friday of the month, at the same time of day and taking pictures. Maybe building a calendar.

Anyway, enough yapping, on to the pictures!

This is a Google Earth image of the resevoir, just to give you some idea of how large it is.  The edge of town is at the bottom left corner.

This is a Google Earth image of the resevoir, just to give you some idea of how large it is. The edge of town is at the bottom left corner.

Had to have somewhere to hang my cane while I snapped the pics. ;)

Had to have somewhere to hang my cane while I snapped the pics. 😉

Saw some interesting wildlife while there. It's important to see the little things in the big picture, don't you think?

Saw some interesting wildlife while there. It’s important to see the little things in the big picture, don’t you think?

Especially when they're about to end up in your hair like this guy.  I love the way the light is in this picture.

Especially when they’re about to end up in your hair like this guy. I love the way the light is in this picture.

To get to where I wanted to do, we had to go up and down the hill.  There wasn't much in the way of support...

To get to where I wanted to do, we had to go up and down the hill. There wasn’t much in the way of support…

...although apparently there used to be.

…although apparently there used to be.

It was really peaceful though.  The scenery was lush and vibrant

It was really peaceful though. The scenery was lush and vibrant.

Full of life.

Full of life.

And really, somewhere we'd love to canoe or kayak.

And really, somewhere we’d love to canoe or kayak.

Our part of Ontario is beautiful and I am so glad we live here.

And now, I am off to take the trip of a lifetime.  I will post whatever strikes my fancy the most when it does while across the pond.

Muah

Leave a Reply

