Eclectic Collection Part Two & the Name the Macro game!

Good morning!  I have an eclectic mix of pictures and an anecdote for you this morning.  I’m sorry it’s been so long since I’ve written.  Life is still more stressful than usual and it’s taking its toll on everything.  Hoping some of it will resolve itself a little this week.  I have my MRI on Monday and I hope they can have preliminary results to my pain doc by Thursday (though I am doubtful).  

Enough about that now.  On with the pictures! 

So, every Saturday, I feed the squirrels. They get a piece of bread with pb, some sunflower seeds and (on Sundays too) the core of my apple. There are two who take advantage of this most often – a black one and a grey/brown one with tan ears.  

Isn't he cute?  I know the colour is horrible.  Took the picture (through the living room window)  before I realized I needed to change my camera settings.  Did the best I could to fix it though.

Isn’t he cute? I know the colour is horrible. Took the picture (through the living room window) before I realized I needed to change my camera settings. Did the best I could to fix it though.

Yesterday, Tan Ears scared the bejesus out of me by plastering himself to the living room window like a starfish on a tank wall about 2 minutes after I’d put everything out. Then he proceeded to hide or eat every single piece of food out there, except for two little scraps of bread. Even licking the pb off the railing.  

The stuff he chose not to eat.   He came back later to pick through it.   Because he's greedy like that.

The stuff he chose not to eat. He came back later to pick through it. Because he’s greedy like that.  (And yes, I rotated the canvas on purpose)

I put my apple core out this morning – along with a blackberry, as an experiment – and before I’d managed to sit down with my tea and breakfast he was already there.  He ran up the tree with a piece of apple and ate it before systematically hiding every other piece of core.  The he sat on the railing and ate both halves of the blackberry like I eat chocolate – quickly before someone can steal it but with great enjoyment.

I need a name for him though.  “Cute Tan Ears” is somewhat unwieldy.  “Fluffy Tail” doesn’t work either.  Maybe just “Fluffy”… hmmm…. 

A few weeks ago we got a smattering of snow.  I wandered around the cottage taking pictures for you.  I have three of my favourites.  I like them for the textures and the colours.  

First up, one from my favourite plant in the yard – the Snowball Bush (aka Viburnum opulus “Roseum”).  I love the dark glossy leaves in the spring, the numerous globes of tiny white flowers in the summer and the bright red leaves in the fall.  And with our (really light) snow fall the bush (tree? It’s huge) got even prettier.

Isn't it gorgeous? I love the texture of the snow  and the lines of the leaves.

Isn’t it gorgeous? I love the texture of the snow and the lines of the leaves.

Next, my favourite evergreen – a Juniper (that I’m allergic to).    

The white on green is deliciously crisp. The snow is a bunch of tiny balls, rather than the typical flat flakes.

The white on green is deliciously crisp. The snow is a bunch of tiny balls, rather than the typical flat flakes.

Lastly, the blanket we had on the clothesline.  I bought my daughter a new blanket for her bed but in order for it to come into my home it has to be at least 75% safe, even though it’s on her bed, so it was airing out for a while.  It too got snowed on.

Bright pink and bright white.  It's the girlie version of black and white. ;)

Bright pink and bright white. It’s the girlie version of black and white. 😉

Next are a couple of macros.  

The first one was taken when The Boyfriend was working on his newest walking stick.  I wanted to try and take a macro of it.  I pretty much didn’t get what I wanted out of it but, I believe, I was taking it with my phone camera.  This is the best one of the lot.

I do like the sunlight in the amber.  Love the texture of the bark.

I do like the sunlight in the amber. Love the texture of the bark.

Speaking of macros…  Iiiiiiiiiiiiit’s Name that Macro time!!

This game comes to you from the perversion of my mind and, incidentally, has no prizes and you get nothing out of it but the answer.

And really… a real “wtf!?” feeling. 😉

This is a close up of a reaction to the application of freezing temperatures.

This is a close up of a reaction to the application of freezing temperatures.

Can you guess?  Let me know in the comments.

Finally, a picture I took hobbling down the road in an attempt to go for a walk a couple of weeks ago.  I liked the contrast of the dark branches against the pale grey sky.  Then, of course, I had to play with it in Photoshop.  Made it look all purdy-like.

Love this!   I treated the background with Hue & Saturation to turn the sky purple.

I treated the background with Hue & Saturation to turn the sky purple as an experimentation.  I absolutely love how it came out.

That’s all for me today, folks!  I am hoping to be able to get more pictures taken this week, I do enjoy it.  Maybe somewhere new, like Victoria Park in London.  They put their lights up, it should be nice.

I am going to do some writing, do some cooking, some shopping and maybe a walk.  Though combining grocery shopping and a walk may be ambitious.

Have a great day!

Muah.

EDIT:  I figured I should put the answer to the Name Game in the blog:  

 

*drum rolllll*  

It’s potato soup!  

I made bacon-potato-leek soup last weekend and The Boyfriend froze the leftovers.  He must have filled the jar too much and the Mason jar cracked.   The soup turned into this unappetizing (but still good when reheated with added fluid) sponge.  It was really awesome close up.  

See?

Totally cool!

Totally cool!

 

Leave a Reply

