Surprising Sights (aka Fun with Macros!)

Good afternoon, my lovelies. 

How’s it goin’, eh?

For this blog, I had planned to share a few more photos from my folder called ‘for blog’.  It’s where I put the photos I want to share with you once I’m done with them in Photoshop.  However!  When I was making breakfast I noticed that the strawberries I had last weekend had been left (to rot) on the counter.  Even if I had put them away, they’d still be rotting.  I’m not sure why The Boyfriend left them there but they did provide some significant inspiration.  

Also, every Saturday, (as I’ve mentioned before), I put out peanut butter on bread for Bob and Doug, our resident squirrels.  When I was leaned over setting the bread out I noticed that the snow looked really strange.  I immediately wanted to photograph it too.

I decided to eat my breakfast first and think about how I wanted to do it.  

Let’s talk about the strawberries first.  

I decided to put out the cutting board and use it as a base but it was too dark in the kitchen for macros, even with the window right there.  So my most immediate issue was how to light everything.  I have a torch (flashlight) on my phone (doesn’t everyone?) and I figured that would be good enough.  But how do I prop it up so I can adjust the berries and take pictures without having to worry about it falling?  

Why, lay it across the top of one of my tea cups (mugs), of course.  

And it was very nearly perfect.  I probably could have used a reflector for a less direct source of light but this set up worked. [SQUIRREL!] Would a piece of white or off-white paper have worked for that?  hmmm 

I took a dozen or so pictures and in the end I’m sharing eight of them with you.  These are not what I’d call pretty.  These berries are in stages of rot after all.  The pictures are spectacular. 

I don’t really have a rhyme or reason for the order of pictures, they just are.  They’ve had various adjustments to try to fix slight over exposure here, bring out more detail there.  Pretty much, I’m just going to post them with little comments that come to mind.  (Please don’t forget that if you want more detail in any of my photos, you can right click and select “open image in new tab”.)  

I had a slight problem with glare on the white mold, as you can see, but it makes for a startling and vivid image.

I had a slight problem with glare on the white mold, as you can see, but it makes for a startling and vivid image.

Other angles brought the glare down a little...

Other angles brought the glare down a little…

...and allowed for more detail to come through.

…and allowed for more detail to come through.

We mustn't discount the top of the strawberry.  The colours here are intense and vastly different.

We mustn’t discount the top of the strawberry. The colours here are intense and vastly different.

Also kind of... wet... and really disgusting up this close.

Also kind of… wet… and really disgusting up this close.  Actually… it kind of looks like a living creature.  Hunting.

I LOVE this picture.  The textures, the lighting,  the...Well, everything.

I LOVE this picture. The textures, the lighting, the…Well, everything.

Same strawberry, different angle.  I love this picture for the tiny details, like the strawberry seeds scattered on the wood, and for the light and shadows.  The textures of the rot is pretty cool too.

Same strawberry, different angle. I love this picture for the tiny details, like the strawberry seeds scattered on the wood, and for the light and shadows. The textures of the rot are pretty cool too.

And finally, there's this one.  It has only just started to dry out, has only lost a seed or two, and still looks deliciously edible.   Or would if you hadn't just seen the ones before it.  *grins*

And finally, there’s this one. It has only just started to dry out, has only lost a seed or two, and still looks deliciously edible. Or would if you hadn’t just seen the ones before it. *grins*

Aren’t they fantastic?  Absolutely love them.  Who said all gorgeous pictures have to be pretty?

As I said earlier, I noticed that the snow looked odd, really different.  I couldn’t think of the word but when I showed the pictures to The Boyfriend he said it looked like down feathers.  I am inclined to agree.  I took three pictures to share with you all.  I took two on the blue railing and one on the rug that is draped over the railing.  

When I was playing with the levels and contrast on the second picture, I noticed something weird – the edges turned a purpley-pink colour.  Since my outside world is typically blue and white, with some evergreens thrown in, it doesn’t make any sense to me.  However, I think it’s kind of cool and, oddly, looks more realistic than the just contrast one.  I saved the picture with just the contrast and then again with the contrast and levels both done.  

I'm not sure why this one is still so dark but whatever.  Look at the snow.  Isn't that weird?  It kind of looks like hoar frost but it feels like snow.

I’m not sure why this one is still so dark but whatever. Look at the snow. Isn’t that weird? It kind of looks like hoar frost but it feels like snow.

Different angle than the first, giving more depth to the snow.  Also, this one is no auto-level.

Different angle than the first, giving more depth to the snow. Also, this one is no auto-level.

This one is with the auto-level.  See what I mean?

This one is with the auto-level. See what I mean?

And this one, obviously, is the one of the snow and rug.  I put it in grayscale and there was zero change to the picture.  It made me laugh.

And this one, obviously, is the one of the snow and rug. I put it in grayscale and there was zero change to the picture. It made me laugh.

Small things amuse me.  Makes life more fun if you’re not waiting for that big joke to make you laugh.  And just to make you laugh, because it’s good for you and I enjoy that sort of thing, here is Zefrank to brighten your day.  

Muah

2 thoughts on “Surprising Sights (aka Fun with Macros!)

Leave a Reply

