Amazeballs!

Good Sunday afternoon, everyone!  

“Amazeballs” is the word of a friend of mine.  Krissy uses it to describe things that make her totally happy or surprise her in a good way and that is how I’d describe today’s  pictures.  I have a small collection of things that have made me smile over the last couple of weeks.  

I think I’ve said this before but: In therapy, we are encouraged to find things that we prefer.  It’s not things that make us happy, things that are good, things that are positive, or things we like, it’s things we prefer.  To me, prefer encapsulates all those things.  A good tea makes me happy, it makes me calmer (which is a positive), and therefore, it is something I prefer.  Laughing with my children, all those things too.  A walk on the beach with The Boyfriend, same thing.  

These pictures are things I prefer and I’d like to share them with you.  I think we’ll start with the goofiness that is my daughter sometimes.  

Last week, she and I were watching TV and she was eating strawberries.  She was removing the tops and varying imperfections from them when she discovered a face trying to escape from one of them.  

That’s how sculptors work, right?  They see something in their medium and work to free it? 😉

Slightly demented, more than slightly creepy.  I had to take a picture of course.

Slightly demented, more than slightly creepy. I had to take a picture of course.

The next one is kind of an accident too.  I was eating these candies, pleased as punch too because they’re a lifelong favourite and it’s hard to find ones that aren’t drowned in made with corn syrup.  I was also talking with my friend kitty on FB chat so I took a picture to show her. 

The picture, taken in the car on the spur of the moment with no planning, is perfect. 

Accidental perfection, it's a preference.

Accidental perfection, it’s a preference.

The next two are from our walk on New Year’s day. I know, I know, it’s not exactly ‘from the last couple of weeks’ but as I was looking for pictures, they jumped out at me.  We went for a walk on the south side of the river, around the marina and docks.  I discovered, with Peter’s help, that there are all kinds of settings on my phone’s camera that I didn’t know about.  

After two years.  -.-

I decided to play with them some.  And by “some” I mean I took the same photo over and over again, each one with a different setting.  Twice, once in each of two different locations.  These two are cropped slightly differently (the foreground was unnecessary) but they are the same shot.  

This setting is the "washed out" setting on my camera.  It's weird but I like it.

This setting is the “washed out” setting on my camera. It’s weird but I like it.

This is "Cold Vintage."   Quite the difference, eh?  The colours are slightly distorted but really pop here.

This is “Cold Vintage.” Quite the difference, eh? The colours are slightly distorted but really pop here.

The next subject is my favourite, after my children (who almost NEVER let me photograph them!):  The Boyfriend. 

The first picture is one I snapped when he was walking along the docks, unaware that I was watching him.  I like watching him.  I loved the way his coat popped and tweaked the adjustments just enough to make it truly stand out.  

I did that in the second picture too, come to think of it.  

Isn't it a great splash of colour?

Isn’t it a great splash of colour?  And it really must be winter; look at the ice! 

I love his face.  I wanted to give him a new profile picture for Facebook (which he's not using! *laughs*) and the light was great. A small adjustment of colour and contrast and the picture is stunning.

I love his face. I wanted to give him a new profile picture for Facebook (which he’s not using! *laughs*) and the light was great. A small adjustment of colour and contrast and the picture is stunning.

These last three pictures are from Friday.  It was nice out and Peter wanted to show me something he’d noticed…

Bunny trails!

Bunny trails!

Bunny poop on beaten down bunny trails!   There were many trails and a few obvious meeting places.  I took a few pictures but these next two are my favourites.   

The first one is ground level facing the setting sun.  It’s of several bunny hops in the snow.  I like the perspective and the varying levels.  I love the textures and the way the light and shadows play with each other.  

Perspective, lighting, sparkly bits!

Oh, and the sparkly bits!

This last one is crooked because it was over my head and took me several tries to get right.  I was pressed against the side of the house with my phone (yeah… my phone…not my camera) held just under the eaves trough trying to catch the dying sun through the ice  – without really being able to see the screen.  It took several attempts before I finally gave up.  It wasn’t until we’d come inside and I was scrolling through the pictures that I found this one.  It’s about perfect, really.  I did a small adjustment with the saturation and hue but otherwise left it alone.  

Because, you know, it's pretty perfect.

Because, you know, it’s pretty perfect.

Amazeballs.  Really. 😉

I am preparing for my son’s birthday dinner this afternoon.  He turned 19 on the second and I haven’t yet had a chance to spend much time with him.  We went to a hockey game yesterday that he was playing in (with his father) as part of a men’s rec league tournament.  Wiped us both out.  The arena and the people, in combination, just slayed us.  But I had fun watching him, haven’t been able to yet this year.  Or last year.  I do go to my daughter’s dance competitions, which just about kill me, for days, but I haven’t been able to put myself through the hockey games simply because it’s not just me, it’s The Boyfriend too.  MCS is the devil’s work, I tell you.

Anyway, I have ribs in the oven slow cooking for the next four hours, potatoes waiting to be peeled then boiled with garlic and smashed and veggies waiting to be marinated and tossed on the grill.  Oh, and an ice cream cake in the freezer.  

Should be a good evening.   Boykid will be bringing his sister and his best girl friend (not not girlfriend) along.  

Have a good afternoon!

Muah

2 thoughts on “Amazeballs!

Leave a Reply

