Peace in the Snow

Oh hey, before I get started this morning, I have an ongoing favour to ask of you. If you get these blogs delivered to your email, even if you habitually read them there, could you click on them? I’d like to keep track of the stats and I can’t do that unless you open the blog in your browser.   Pretty please?  Actually, no matter where you see the blog, please, click on it.  I’m curious about locations and referring sites.

And now, back to your (semi!) regularly scheduled program.

Good morning, my lovely people.

I had thought to give you Scotland photographs today – and perhaps still may, today is a catch up of many things – but I found something else to share instead.  Yesterday I was feeling restless and anxious and  I needed to connect with the outside so I put my Wellies on and slipped out the door into the cold and snow.

I thought, at first, to merely photograph the icicles on the porch because they are impressive.  

It turned out to be a lousy picture of it, but it's shaped like a wave.

It turned out to be a lousy picture of it, but it’s shaped like a wave.

And it's four feet long if it's an inch.

And it’s four feet long if it’s an inch.

Okay… That’s a slight exaggeration.  My opinion of it bothered me so I had to go measure it.  It’s two feet, 3 inches long (27″). 😀

But while I was out there I was struck by the utter silence.  No wave noises, no people noises, no animals or birds.  It was totally, completely, silent.  And that silence was completely peaceful.  

I have had silences that are heavy, oppressive and depressing.  I’m not a big fan of silence; I often find it frightening.  I’m not sure why that is but it is how it is.

Yesterday, though, I found it to be perfect.  I stood out there for several minutes trying to be mindful of it.  My brain kept sidelining me into thinking about how to share it with you, how to describe it, how best to photograph it.  (Perhaps I should have video taped it.)  I kept dragging it back into the moment.  

It was a wonderful feeling.

I tried to photograph it for you.  I am not sure that the pictures convey the total serenity of those moments.  It is now a happy place for me.  

The neighbour's side yard. The iced over lake is the biggest reason for the pure silence.

The neighbour’s side yard. The iced over lake is the biggest reason for the pure silence.

This is the closest view to the lake I could get.

This is the closest view to the lake I could get.  (I used a little more contrast on the picture and turned the colours down to try and eliminate distractions and increase the *feel* of the photo, rather than the look.  Did it work?)

Pure.  An excellent word.  That’s what it was, pure.  I enjoyed it immensely.  I wasn’t dressed properly (Wellies, a sweater and threadbare pants I’ve had forever) so I couldn’t stay long.  Pity.

That’s it for my photos this week.  I think I will browse the Scotland folder, because I like the memories.  If I’m inspired to share, I shall. 

Have a wonderful day.

Muah!

2 thoughts on “Peace in the Snow

Leave a Reply

