Fiction Friday Week 9

Good Friday morning, people!

I am sitting here, listening to rock – some soft, some hard, some alternative – and generally enjoying life.  This past week, I   pushed and pushed myself.  Last night I kind of crashed, well past my endurance. This weekend is about rest and recovery.

To me, ‘rest and recovery’ means working at things that I can sit and do. 😀  That means reading and writing, editing photos and jewelry work.  In my sitting hours this week I managed to finish HW2’s second edit, (phew), so that means I’ve started on the read through of HW3 so I can pick up where I left off in writing.

I’m pretty sure that all I have left to write is Anna and Liam’s wedding but I want to get back into the feel of the book.  

I have noticed that it’s really hard not to edit as I go along but I’m trying to read this as a writer, not an editor.  I want the feel of the book (as well as continuity) not to slash it.  

(For now)

When I started reading from the beginning I was surprised.  I had completely forgotten about the prologue.  Me having forgotten is not a big shock, really; I do tend to forget what I’ve written almost as soon as I’ve written it.  

It makes it easier for editing, I’m much more critical that way.  It makes it much more difficult for continuity, which is why I have copious notes and a need of someone to keep them in order.  I need a wide swath of wall for a timeline of events and changes.  And… well… a timeline period would be nice.  I’d love to get my friend kitty to do it but a) she lives in Arizona and b) I don’t have the space to have such a timeline OR another person working in my space.

I’m doing my best though.  I know where we are. …mostly. *laughs*

Today I am sharing the prologue with you.  This weekend, I want to share some pictures taken with the camera on my new phone.  The few I’ve taken so far are brilliant. And I’m hoping one of the really cool features – an animated photo – will post here on the blog.  

 I have a few chores left to do so I’m going to get to them.  

The prologue, written after much of the story was written, was there to give a motive to Liliya.  I don’t want anything interrupting the wedding; it will be a happy day, by all the Gods.   I’m going to have to finish with Lilith before then.  Maybe a battle between her and Cain?  I’m not sure.  

Apparently, I have more than just the wedding to write. *laughs*

Anyhoo, although I had forgotten I wrote this it does provide some motivation.  It gives a reason for Liliya’s burning hatred of Anna, for her intense need to kill Anna.  It also gives a reason for the massacre at Glen Coe – it was necessary to draw Anna out.  It was a long game.  

It probably needs tweaked some too. 

Enjoy it, let me know what you think. 

And once again, please help me with my stats by clicking on the link in your email and opening the blog in your browser. 🙂 

Have a great day!

Muah!

Prologue

1,600 A.D, Babylon

Lilith lounged on the chaise by the fire pit.  She was on a platform two wide steps above everyone else, presiding over the night and the sycophants falling over themselves to try to earn her favour.  They were inside the Hanging Gardens of Babylon.  The gardens were a thousand years old and Lilith kept up a careful illusion of disrepair and ruin to keep humans from trespassing.  Fires burned in every available bowl, torch and pit.  Lilith always did her best to eliminate the shadows.

On a large pillow, one step down from Lilith, was the one person who actually did have Lilith’s favour – a delicate looking woman with olive skin and dark hair.  The woman was wrapped in several layers of gauzy silk, heavy kohl lined her eyes and her lips were reddened by wine and pomegranates.  A soft smile that looked smug to some of the sycophants seemed at odds with the chain that went from the gold collar circling her slender throat.  Beside her on the step was an ivory bowl, a gift from Lilith many decades ago; it was filled with water. 

“Well, my Oracle?  What do you have to tell me?”  Lilith smiled at the girl.  Lilith was the woman Christian mythology touted as Adam’s first wife.  She laughed every time she heard the story.  She was created at the same time as Adam, from the same dust, in an experiment done by the Gods.  From the moment Lilith and Adam laid eyes on each other they were at odds. 

Adam felt that because he had a cock like the God of War and the Father who ruled over all he should be the dominant one.  He felt that only his decisions, his needs and whims mattered.  He was as arrogant as the Father God.

Lilith felt that they were equal – there was the Goddess of Fertility and Goddess of Harvest, both of whom were in charge of making all the things the Gods’ loved.  And, more importantly, the Mother Goddess was equal to, if not slightly above, the Father God. 

They fought constantly.  They fought, that is, until the Gods picked her up and threw her from the original paradise.  She was cast into the darkness and left there to dwell forever because they wanted a woman to be weak and submissive.  After Eve was created Lilith swore she would feed only on the lives of babies and small children.  She became the Queen of Demons and, after a fashion, the first Vampire.  The humans she has since turned then are either Vampires or Demons, depending on her will.

Then Adam and Eve had Cain and Abel.  The Gods had fun with the twins, wagering over their every sibling squabble.  One day, a God whispered in Cain’s ear that if he killed his brother he would win their favour.  Cain, then willing to do almost anything to curry the Gods’ favour, eventually gave in to the God’s talk and murdered Abel.  It was because of that God’s treachery that the Mother and Father let him live, though they fed him his brother’s blood and tossed him into the vast night to live there forever. 

Lilith’s lip curled at the thought of him.  She had reached out to him at the beginning but…  She shook off the thought and looked at her pet oracle.  “I’m sorry, my sweet, I got lost in thought.”

Abida smiled at Lilith.  She adored her.  Lilith had taken her when she was a child and raised her.  Then, when she reached maturity, Lilith started giving her little sips of immortality.  It slowed her aging enough that it was only now, more than three centuries after her birth, that she was beginning to look in her mid-thirties.  “Yes Mistress, that’s why I stopped talking until you came back to me.”

“Tell me now.”  Lilith leaned forward and listened as Abida told her of a time, several centuries away, when Cain’s beloved daughter would be most vulnerable, so involved in helping someone that an assassin would succeed.  At the end, Lilith grinned, baring two sets of fangs, upper and lower.  “You have done well, my pet.  Is the Vampire able to do this near us?  I believe we must begin to grow the hatred for Sadira in her heart.”

“She is indeed.  She traveled to us from the distant north, Russia; drawn here by a pull she did not understand.  She was created by one of your line and already has a dislike of him.  She would be willing to help, for a price.”  Abida kept one small detail to herself – the future she spoke of had a fog around it.  The fog indicated that it may yet change.

Lilith raised a brow.  “What price might this be?”

Abida lowered her eyes.  “She wishes to be a captain in your personal guard.”

“A bold one, isn’t she?”  Lilith laughed.

“Yes Mistress.”  Abida whispered low, knowing Lilith could hear her.  “But I believe Liliya will not survive her encounter with Cain’s daughter, so you may promise her anything and not have to deliver.”

Lilith raised her head and her voice.  “I wish to speak to Liliya.”  There was a smack of flesh on flesh, a grunt and the sound of a heavy clay pot rocking on marble before a dainty, blonde Vampire appeared.  Lilith invited her to sit with them, placing Liliya on the step above Abida, and began whispering to her.

 

Leave a Reply

