New Phone – New Camera

Good morning!

It’s Spring Break here for my daughter so I am taking a long weekend at the cottage with The Boyfriend.  That means this photoblog still falls in the range of ‘weekend’ for me. 😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Like this one. It’s a macro shot of Egyptian chamomile tea, after it’s been steeped

Today I want to share some photos I took with the new camera.  I’ve had to carefully weed out the ones taken with my Olympus.  

No matter how much I want to share them, this blog is for the phone camera.

But wait!  First!  I’m so excited!  Look! (Yeah…okay, that’s a lot of exclamation points.  Sue me. 😉 )

My summer office is thawing!

My summer office is thawing!

Isn’t that great?   The snow is totally gone this morning.  I’m thrilled.  

Okay, back to the job at hand.  We got our new phones at the beginning of the month.  Samsung S4s.  There are positives and negatives but I’m not about reviewing the phone.  I AM interested in the camera; that I will review (ish) as I go.

Here are the specs:

Primary: 13 MP, 4128 x 3096 pixels, autofocus, LED flash
Features: Dual Shot, Simultaneous HD video and image recording, geo-tagging, touch focus, face/smile detection, HDR
Video: 1080p@30fps, dual-video rec.

(found on gsmarena.com. For full phone specs, check them out)

The pictures are larger and better quality that from my S3, overall.  The biggest difference that I have noticed, (besides the ability to take image in image shots), is the settings, the ability to change how you adjust the colour etc.  You cannot manually change the ISO or WB, for instance.  You have settings like Auto, Drama, Best Face, Sports and Night, and others. 

Pressing the gear symbol, (options, settings, whatever), gives you options like:

  • turning the flash on and off,
  • turning the auto-night adjustment on and off (it will automatically adjust for low light settings) 
  • turning voice control on and off, (Oh, I am so going to have to play with that),
  • options for recording mode, and
  • auto sharing options (on, off, where to)

I dislike that all the settings are automatic.  

I am interested in playing with settings like Drama and Sports.  In Drama, it takes a series of shots and then stitches the best ones together to form a dramatic photo.  Sports allows for photos of fast moving objects.

I did find a setting for “Animated photo”.  I thought that was odd.  When I was playing with the camera I happened to be making Man Soup for supper.  After I dished it up I took a photo using this setting.  The picture won’t share to Facebook because it’s too big and not the right format, even though it labels itself as a .gif in my files.  Let’s see if it works here.

Steamy Man Soup!  And an example of an animated photo.

Steamy Man Soup! And an example of an animated photo.

Pretty cool, right? 😀  (It is slowing my ability to do things wayyyyyy down though.)

The Auto setting takes some pretty sharp photos. 

This is one of the first pictures I took.  Birch  against the blue sky.  THe sharp lines and crisp colours are awesome.

This is one of the first pictures I took. Birch against the blue sky. The sharp lines and crisp colours are awesome.

Terror looks amazing.  You can see all the colours that make him such a gorgeous feline.  Plus, you know, his annoyance that I made him stand there when all he wanted to do was sniff stuff.

Terror looks amazing. You can see all the colours that make him such a gorgeous feline. Plus, you know, his annoyance that I made him stand there when all he wanted to do was sniff stuff.

There is a Rich Tone (HDR) format too.  

I'm not sure I like that it turned the sunlight into speckles but the ice looks great.

I’m not sure I like that it turned the sunlight into speckles but the ice looks great.

It looks better here in the Auto setting though.

It looks better here in the Auto setting though.

This is also an example of Rich Tone.  I think it looks better here.  (It's also an example of snow melt down at the beach.

This is also an example of Rich Tone. I think it looks better here. (It’s also an example of snow melt down at the beach.)

I tried the Sport setting on the only thing I had around here that moves with any speed and regularity – the dripping icicles.

I did manage to catch a drop.  It's right there in the middle.

I did manage to catch a drop. It’s right there in the middle.

I haven’t had a group of people to photograph to try things like the Best Face and Beauty Face settings.  I did try Best Photo but basically it’s on Auto and takes a fast series of pictures so you can choose the best ones to save.  

We were driving home (to my house) last Sunday at sunset and I decided to try and capture it while we were driving.

It didn't really go all that well.  I don't like the colours, it wasn't that yellow.  And even when we stopped to take the photos, it wasn't that great.

It didn’t really go all that well. I don’t like the colours, the sunset wasn’t that yellow. And even when we stopped to take the photos, it wasn’t that great.

It does, however, take lovely macro shots.  Lots of details come through.

Like here, with this fallen icicle.  You can see the striations in the ice and the refraction of the snow behind it.

Like here, with this fallen icicle. You can see the striations in the ice and the refraction of the snow behind it.

And here with a cross cut of the core of my breakfast.  This one is the apple core, though I did take one of the pear, I think I'll put it up on Instagram instead.  (I really need to start using it more, Instagram that is)

And here with a cross cut of the core of my breakfast. This one is the apple core, though I did take one of the pear, I think I’ll put it up on Instagram instead. (I really need to start using it more. Instagram that is)

 Over all, this camera is pretty easy to use and, being contrary as I can be, I don’t think I like it for that.  I have been trying to learn about ISO and WB and everything else it takes to take a good picture.  

For quality, I think this one surpasses my S3’s camera  by a long shot.  There isn’t a lot of tweaking to be done to make them look the way I want them to.  The Auto setting does a pretty damn good job.  

I am sitting outside right now, wrapped up in a coat and a blanket with another coat under my ass, so I thought I’d leave you with a parting shot.  

It’s time to do some writing in HW3 so I can get the book done and do another read through of HW2.  My books are going to be published again, I will deal with the hassle.  I’m never going to get anywhere, never going to see any success with my manuscripts hiding in my Work folder. 

Have a lovely day, even if it is Monday.

Muah!

It is awfully bright out, pardon the squinting. ;)  This is the photo in photo.  Strange, eh?

Look at me being all omniscient.  It is awfully bright out, pardon the squinting. 😉 This is the photo in photo. Strange, eh?

 

3 thoughts on “New Phone – New Camera

Leave a Reply

