Monday Medley – Wood

Good Monday morning, folks!  I know, “good Monday” seems like an oxymoron but there’s no reason for it to be.

As promised, here is the new weekly blog experiment.

I have failed big time at posting photo blogs on the weekends for quite some time now.  Part of that was because I wasn’t taking pictures worth noting.  Mostly, it’s because my weekends have been about shutting off and trying to feel better.  They are very much about spending time with The Boyfriend too.  The shutting down is about work, about doing for others, pretty much about doing anything outside of the two of us.

Sounds selfish, I suppose, but to me it’s about looking after me and looking after our relationship.

True, the spasms did break but it didn’t last long.  The only saving grace has been the yoga; it’s prevented the new round from being as bad as the first, so far.  However, lately, days like Friday, where my legs collapsed from under me again, and Saturday, when I spent the day in a fog of pain, barely able to walk, have been happening more and more.  Again.

Monday Medley is about photography.  It’s about the things I’ve found interesting – the subjects, the angles, the shadows and light, the lines – in the last week or so.  And while I do have a backlog of photos, we’re going to start this new experiment with photos from the last two weeks.

This week the theme is wood.  We spent a weekend clearing out dead branches from the bushes and some of the trees a couple of weeks ago.  We found some very interesting (to us, *laughs*) pieces of wood.  Gnarly bits of gnarled wood.  

The Boyfriend did an awesome thing with some of that wood that is a whole other post – he custom made me a cane.  It’s gorgeous.  It’s a prototype, an experiment, he says, but I adore it.  But that’s a show-and-tell for another day.

For now, the other bits we found and some of what he has done with it.  

After this, I am going to continue trying to get to know James, the new computer (an ASUS N551jk 15.6″) , and see if I can get some writing done.  James is still quite a lot toxic and is making me a little brain dead, so we’ll see.

On to the photos! 

A piece of driftwood I found on the beach.  I took the picture with the Rich Format on my camera then used Photoshop to enhance the colours.  I love the textures here.  I love birch trees for that.  They're always interesting to look at.  The fact that the bark is hanging on, still wrapped around the branch, even as the thing is being hollowed out strikes me as tenacious. Especially for a dead thing. ;)

A piece of driftwood I found on the beach. I took the picture with the Rich Format on my camera then used Photoshop to enhance the colours. I love the textures here. I love birch trees for that. They’re always interesting to look at. The fact that the bark is hanging on, still wrapped around the branch, even as the thing is being hollowed out strikes me as tenacious. Especially for a dead thing. 😉

This Rose of Sharon seed pod counts as wood, really!  I like the shapes and colours here.  The fact that the bark is hanging on, still wrapped around the branch, even as the thing is being hollowed out strikes me as tenacious.  Especially for a dead thing. ;)

This Rose of Sharon seed pod counts as wood… really! I like the shapes and colours here. 

We are not sure what this is.  It currently has a pale green bloom of some sort pushing out from the red.  Do any of you know what it is?  Do share, please.  It kind of popped up in the garden.

We are not sure what this is. It currently has a pale green bloom of some sort pushing out from the red. Do any of you know what it is? Do share, please. It kind of popped up in the garden.

Do you see the face?  *grins*

Do you see the face? *grins*

This one just had to be put in black & white so that the colours didn't distract from the lines.    I really like the patterns here.

This one just had to be put in black & white so that the colours didn’t distract from the lines. I really like the patterns here.

This one strikes me as Nature's way of throwing her femininity in your face.   The lines and curves are very sensual.

This one strikes me as Nature’s way of throwing her femininity in your face. The lines and curves are very sensual.

Have a wonderful day! 

Muah!

One thought on “Monday Medley – Wood

Leave a Reply

