Fiction Friday Week 18

Good afternoon!  I hope you are all enjoying this lovely Friday.  It’s supposed to get to a very humid 30°C (86 or so Fahrenheit) today.  Quite a nice day for a walk on the beach!  I’m hoping to accomplish just that thing this afternoon. 

I am working on the formatting to get Lizendale up on Kindle.  And because I’m working so hard on it, I want to share something from it.  It’s the marriage between Magni and Alexi – weddings are on the brain, given that I’m also writing Liam & Anna’s.  I think it’s a beautiful thing. 

I am looking towards the… And I got distracted.  I have no idea what I was going to say there.  I’ve been thinking and pondering it for close to ten minutes.  Not a clue.

I am heading to the beach today, (I know, quelle surprise), and I think this Monday’s medley theme may be water.  Or whatever comes to mind when I look at my pictures. 

For now, I am heading to The Boyfriend’s.  I will be sure to let you know as soon as Lizendale hits the Kindle market.  

It IS on Amazon!  You can find it here.  And you can find my Amazon Author page here although, for some reason, it isn’t linking my books together properly when you go to it from the book page.  It has also added a book to my profile when you click on “visit the author page” from the Witch Hitlist page.  I did not write The Golden One.  That’s someone else entirely.

Seems I have some tech support writing to do. 😉  But first! The cottage!

Have a wonderful weekend!  

Muah!

 

Alexi watched through the kitchen door as the three men flew off.  “Will I ever get used to it?”

“Of course you will, my dear, you were born to be among us.”  Artie smiled and hugged the young girl.  “Come now, I prepared a bath for you, then I will show you the dress.”  Artie led the way upstairs and bustled away again once she closed the door on Alexi in the tub.

Alexi slipped into the steaming, strawberry scented water with a sigh and a smile.  Tonight she would be married.  She frowned wondering if married was the right word.  She shrugged it didn’t matter for then she would be his for all time.   She felt whole when she was with him and like a part of her was missing when she wasn’t.  It had started when she was thirteen, though she didn’t know what she was missing.  There was just something there at times then gone for months at a time.  Months she’d spent desolate and lonely. 

A smile curved her lips as she washed herself, sending the images to Magni.  You brat!  Do you know what you are doing to me?

The same thing I am doing to myself, Beloved.  See you soon.  Then she deliberately blocked their connection, not realizing that Magni hadn’t fully left her mind since the first day he’d seen her, except when he was hunting.  She washed her hair and worked painstakingly at removing all the extra hair from her body.   Then she rose carefully, trying not to slosh the water on the floor, and reached for a towel.  She wrapped her hair in one then grabbed another and dried off.  Wearing it like a toga, she padded down the hall, looking for Artie.

“We’re in here dear.”  Artie’s voice came from her bedroom. 

Alexi looked a little alarmed at the ‘we’ in the statement and peered cautiously through the door.  She nearly fled when Artie and three strange women turned to her.

Artie reached out a hand.  “Don’t be afraid, these are my sisters and they are going to help prepare you.  This is Thena,” the blonde one nodded as Artie turned to a brunette.  “This is Lacey.  And finally, this is Helena.”  Artie pulled Alexi into the room.  “Now, just let us do the work.  Look at the dress my sisters made for you, isn’t it beautiful?”

It hung from a dressmaker’s dummy.  An invisible strap held it across the back, holding the front in place where it stretched across the front of the dummy.  It was formfitting to the hips where the skirts fell in soft folds, a slight ruffle around the hem.  The color of the fabric rippled from emerald green to pine green in the shifting light, sparkling slightly.  Elbow length gloves in the same material were draped over one shoulder.

Alexi gasped. “That’s for me?”  All four women nodded.  “It’s so beautiful!”

“As are you, little one.”  Helena smiled.  “Our sister was right; you are beautiful and delightful.  I only hope Magni is deserving of you.”  All four of the older women laughed. 

Alexi blushed as the four of them began bustling around her, arguing over her hair, undergarments and just about everything.  Alexi just let them move her as they would.  Soon she was dressed with the gloves, the skirts of the gown just brushing the tops of her bare feet.  Her hair was pinned on top of her head, except for a few ringlets trailing over the nape of her neck.   All four women congratulated each other and beamed at the slip of the girl.  Alexi stared at herself in astonishment as they turned her to the mirror.

“That’s me?”  She watched her reflection move its mouth in time with hers and just shook her head.  She was very nervous all of a sudden.

Artie came up behind her and smiled.  “Yes it is Alexi.  Magni will be speechless when he sees you.  It’s time. Come downstairs in five minutes.”

Alexi nodded, watching as the women filed out of the room.  Then she moved to the window, staring out at the backyard as it filled with people.  The earthen altar was gone and torches had been lit in a large circle against the gathering gloom of the evening.  People were filling the yard, once again forming a circle that was open towards the house.  Suddenly three large birds flew into the yard, circling to the ground and landing on their feet as Llyr, Magni and Matheus.  Alexi smiled at the sight of her beloved.  There you are.

Indeed.  And where are you?  He asked the question even as his sought to find her in the window.  His brother and father flanked him, all in formal dress, as Alexi heard Artie’s voice in her head, telling her it was time. 

Alexi moved on bare feet down the stairs and out the kitchen door.  She felt like she was floating and had eyes only for her Mate.  She never noticed the circle closing behind her, or the gasps of delight at her appearance.  She glided to Magni’s side and took the hand he offered her. 

Magni looked down at her, awed by her beauty.  He had to be poked in the back to begin.  Alexi heard the words she was to say flow into her head as Magni began to speak.  With his first words, silver sparkles began to form in the air around them.  “My love, kiss me, let my breath be yours.”

Alexi’s voice rose, musical and strong, “Let my breath be yours.”

“Remember me, for my soul remembers you.”  The sparkles grew, dancing and swirling around them with his words.

“Love me, all of me, for all of me loves you.”

“Yield to love, for love conquers all.”

“As love for you has conquered me.”  Alexi’s voice was breathless.  She could feel the bond between them strengthening, a hundred million golden threads pulling their souls closer.

“I am yours for all time.”

“As I am yours.”

“Our soul, once halved, is one; we glow with the same light.”  Magni nearly gasped as his heart wrenched, skipped a beat then strengthened, beating in time with hers.

“For now, forever, across all time and space.”

Magni spoke his last line and the sparkles around them swirled, gathering speed with each word.  “What once was mine is forevermore yours.”

“What once was mine is forevermore yours.”  As Alexi spoke the last words of the binding the sparkles closed in on them then exploded outwards, scattering over all gathered, spreading the love shared by two.  Magni cupped Alexi’s face and leaned down to kiss her.

At once the people around them erupted into applause.  Magni released Alexi’s mouth with a whispered promise to continue later and turned them both to greet the others.  His hand rested on the small of her back and both of them could feel the fires he tried to bank flaring to life under the casual touch of flesh on flesh.  Magni was impatient with the need to be pleasant and greet and thank all of their guests.  He nearly growled when Artie waved a hand and tables of food and beverage appeared.

Alexi smiled and slid her arms around his waist, laying her head on his chest.  I can feel your impatience, Beloved.  There is no need; we have all the time in the world for I am yours for eternity.

I would like that time to start right now.  Magni’s chest rumbled with a soft growl, even as he sent her images of what he’d like to be doing to her.    He was even more annoyed when Alexi merely laughed softly then left his side to talk to his mother and aunts.  The next couple of hours were spent with him watching helplessly as she smiled and greeted and even flirted with their guests.  He had a nearly permanent scowl on his face.

Llyr, in a rare show of light humor, slapped his son on the back.  “Lighten up, you ogre, your scowl will scare away our guests.  This is a celebration!”

Magni turned his scowl on his father.  “Scare them away?  Good!”  He turned slightly and morphed one arm into that of a bear, complete with vicious claws.

Llyr just laughed at him.  “That won’t make a difference.  These people can do all that.  They know very well what you want.  The pheromones you two are giving off are nearly spoiling the taste of the food.”

Magni gaped at Llyr.  Then he laughed.  “Fine, fine.  Let’s have a party.”  He merged with the rest of the crowd, greeting old friends as he sought his Mate and clamped her to his side.

 

Leave a Reply

