Fiction Friday Week 29

Good Friday afternoon!

How are you?  I am whipped.  This week has been physically and emotionally exhausting – two days of the outside world (including a 3 floor library!  Totally orgasmic), and a fight in the family that cut me to the quick.  

I plan on doing mostly sit-down work today and I really want to put my feet in the lake.  The weather is incredibly hot and humid this week and it’s draining.

 

google image find

google image find

It is only 57 days to NaNo! 

I mentioned way back before June that Wolfman challenged me to write a thriller. The challenge came with the following criteria:

  • No paranormal anything.  
  • Can’t go back any further than the cold war.
  • It must include: an ex-bounty hunter cowboy, ninjas and a Mexican super assassin who happens to be a midget with an eyepatch.  

The last is his payback for me making him include pink and penguins (and ships but that’s normal, eh?) in the challenge I gave him.

I have never written a thriller.  I’ve written violent, erotic romances with some thriller elements but an actual thriller?  No, not if you look at the definition.  

thrill·er
ˈTHrilər/
noun
 
  1. a novel, play, or movie with an exciting plot, typically involving crime or espionage.
    ~google

 

And:

  1. Thriller is a genre of literature, film, videogame stories and television programming that uses suspense, tension, and excitement as its main elements. Thrillers heavily stimulate the viewer’s moods, giving them a high level of anticipation, ultra-heightened expectation, uncertainty, surprise, anxiety and terror.

~google

According to Daily Writing tips, a thriller is a story where the “protagonist is in danger from the outset.”  

In another article I read, either the prologue or first chapter is from the antagonist’s point of view and it shows you why the protagonist is in danger.  

I also had to look at the difference between a mystery and a thriller.  

Writer’s Digest says, “A mystery follows an intellectual protagonist who puts together clues to solve a crime after it’s been committed, and a thriller details the prevention of a crime before it has been committed.”  

That seems to fly in the face of the antagonist committing a crime or action that sets the pace and gives the reason for the protagonist’s danger. However, I do like it for defining the difference.  

In any case, now I know what a thriller is.  I need to figure out how to thriller.

I am studying that today.  However, it would be helpful to have some idea of a plot, of a reason for the danger.  I’m hoping that developing my characters will help with that.  

So far, I have Theodore “Ted” Terwilliger, a bounty hunter of some kind (Federal?  Still researching it) turned cowboy.  He had a wife and a little boy, (who pretended he was a ninja almost all the time, thank you TMNT), that were murdered because of ….well, I don’t know what yet.  

Ted is 6’1″ and built like a linebacker.  Broad shoulders, well-muscled chest and abdomen.  Strong, muscular arms and legs.  Sensuous mouth, strong jaw, red-gold hair, green eyes.  A lumpy nose, from being broken many times, large scarred hands.  He’s got a scar just under his ribs on his right side from a bail skipper stabbing him and another low on the curve of his left butt cheek.

He won’t tell me what that one is for though.  I am intrigued.  I bet you are too. 😉

I have the Mexican, super assassin, eye-patch wearing, midget character figured out too.  Partly.  He’s a friend of Ted’s and his name is Carlos Montalbán.  He is going to have a bionic eye implant.  I want the eye to allow him to be able to choose between the lower and upper infrared spectrums.  

A quick lesson (because I just learned it):  The lower spectrum of infrared is what we typically think of as night vision.  It’s like a cat’s eye at night, when their pupils open wide.  They catch tiny amounts of light and enhance them to create a brighter picture of their surroundings.   The upper spectrum is like thermal imaging – capturing heat emitted by objects and people, rather than reflected light.

I am hoping that by building the characters – the complex protagonist and equally complex antagonist as well as the other characters of varying importance – I will stumble upon a plot.  A conflict at the very least.

Already, I’m thinking that Ted, in his bounty hunterness, (it’s a word…now), has done something to the antagonist, probably unintentionally.  Or at least peripherally.  

I am excited to share my progress with this book, this brand-new-to-me genre.  I’m looking forward to the challenge.  

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

