A Glimpse

Welcome to the world of 19th century building remodels.  This building was built around 1895, I think.  There’s a shop downstairs and three apartments above.  My landlord doesn’t appear to care too much about it.  

2016-04-26 12.48.00.jpg

Super steep stairs no one cares about.  

 

These are how I, owner of body with a degenerating SI joint and DDD in the lower back, (AND FMS), get in and out of my home. 

They’re a challenge and I’m always up for a challenge. 

Right?  

*laughs*

And speaking of challenges, I mentioned before I am working on a brand new kind of project for me: a video blog!  

This  vlog will be me talking about living with chronic pain, as I’ve said.  It is NOT about the effects, because we know and… I’m repeating myself.  I want to help people build lives worth living and I want them to understand that they are not alone with their pain.  

I will be talking about: 

  • Acceptance.  This is forgiving; being at peace with who and what you are, what you’ve been given; and it means that you understand right here, right now, that your body is flawed, NOT YOU.  
  • A technique called Turning the Mind.  This is a technique I learned in DBT that was pivotal in helping me learn to deal with my pain.  And it was something I seemed to know instinctively.  And I will talk about DBT. 
  • Goals, dreams & a Life Worth Living.  I capitalize Life Worth Living because I think it’s extremely important.  People with chronic pain forget how to live.
  • Chronic pain.  What it is; chronic vs acute.  I will touch on the effects on sleep, family and the mind and emotional state of the one its afflicted.
  • MCS, FMS, Osteoarthritis, Nerve Damage, Degenerating Disc Disease  
  • I will talk about whatever my viewers want or need me to talk about.

The first video will be an introduction to me and why I’m an authority on these subjects.  Why I have the audacity to think I can help people.  

I want that first blog to go out on June 1st.  That’s six weeks from now.  I am working my butt off at understanding YouTube and doing the research for the first few blogs.  I can’t promise quality, given my *cough* equipment but hey, I consider the content more important than any high tech options.  

So far, I’ve had everyone I talk to about it say something along the lines of “I’d love to see that” and that gives me impetus and motivation.  

And now, I am going to give my brain a rest with daydreams and fiction.

Muah.  

Leave a Reply

